IT.COM

opinion What to think about when buying new gTLDs?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Fancy.domains

Top Member
Impact
Hello,

Today I've got some messages regarding new gTLDs. I've been asked what to think about before choosing a specific name and where to sell these names? Although, I'm no expert, I will share some of my personal ideas here below. If you are buying the name as an investment, I would suggest to using a checklist before spending your money. This is an example of such:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What names should I buy and what to think about before?

1. Do never buy names with an existing trademark issue. Obviously, do never register names such as "Toyota", "Coca-Cola", "Armani" or "Hilton", but do ALSO always check your potential names for other existing possible trademarks issues. I personally use:
I do also google the name to see if there might be any trademark issues that I am not aware of, and that aren't listed in the database mentioned.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2. Then, ask yourself if you really think that your future name has a commercial potential for companies and / or start-ups, in this business segment? Why would these businesses buy your name, rather than find a corresponding .COM (to hand register or buy on the aftermarket)?

3. Do companies within this niche tend to invest in domain names? Here are two great sources to check previous aftermarket sales:

4. Are you sure you can not get an equally good corresponding .COM name for the same or even less money? If you're not sure, I would suggest to forget about that certain new gTLD. Use Estibot (or a similar tool) to check what CPC and search volume the phrase has. For non-generic gTLDs it is important to combine the keyword together with the extension when you're doing this search.