NameSilo

Problems, Bugs and Fixes at Afternic - Report Problems Here

Located in Domain Marketplace Reviews started by carob, Mar 12, 2017.

Replies:
1,193
Views:
54,389

  1. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41
    yes, they are not "in review" this is just the daily afternic synchronisation. They take the landing pages offline each day for around 2 hours to synchronise systems.
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. Jeremyah

    Jeremyah Established Member

    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    64
    Hi Everybody,

    I dindn't know exactly where to post this so I use this thread.

    I've checked my Afternic account, and a " Pending sale" Status is appearing on one of my domains (3000$). It's strange because I dind't receive any emails or notifications about this. What it's mean ? Serious possible sale or bug, something else ?

    Thank you !
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
  3. NYJimbo

    NYJimbo Domain Re-Animator Gold Account VIP

    Posts:
    2,561
    Likes Received:
    4,429
    James,

    Great news, XXXXXXXX.com has sold via Fast Transfer through our DLS Network for $388.00

    No action is needed from you at this time. You will receive an email update within 8-10 days regarding your payment.

    If you have any questions, please feel to message the TA Agent through the link at the bottom of the domain sales record.

    https://www.afternic.com/sold_domains
    Anybody know why it still takes 8-10 days for payment on a fast transfer domain ? Also, where is the "bottom of the domain sales record" ? They only send you the above email and there is a cryptic list of domains you sold in the past, but nothing else.

    Once again, I sold a domain that shows "transfer complete", but payout "not scheduled" seven days after the sale.​
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2019
  4. carob

    carob Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    4,333
    Just had a bit of a shock. We have had stories about domains selling at prices below what the seller thinks they had set. Well read about this - GD was offering my domain for instant sale way below the listed price I had set.

    Was updating a domain price across several platforms and put in the domain in the GD search. It popped up saying available to buy now - at 1/3 of the asking price set at Afternic, and GD willing to take offers at 2/3 of that 1/3 figure, ie at 1/3 of the minimum offer I had set.

    Signed into Afternic and it did show it listed at the full price I remembered, checked my spreadsheet exports and it had been at that price since June at least. Floor price was 5k lower and min offer price set at 2/3 of asking price.

    This fast-transfer enabled domain could have been sold by GD at exactly 1/3 of the price I had set, and that would probably overwrite the figures I had put in at Afternic, erasing the history.

    The only safe course of action was to delete the domain from Afternic at once,
    which I did, then I could re-list it later but not enable fast-transfer.

    Interestingly a few minutes later GD still offer it for sale at their incorrect 1/3 price, but if you try to buy it, you get a message saying sorry this was recently sold.

    This is very concerning.
     
  5. Embrand

    Embrand Top Member ICA Member Gold Account VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    962
    That is the reason I only list my lowest priced domains at Afternic with Fast Transfer. They also really need to get that 2FA for the Afternic site so nobody else can edit your prices...
     
  6. carob

    carob Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    4,333
    In another thread about domains selling at prices seller did not think they had set, we found that Godaddy ToS allow up to 48 hours for asking prices to update when changed through the GD interface, and that Afternic ToS set no timeframe at all for when updates to asking prices made through the Afternic interface take effect. I doubt that has changed in the few months since then.

    So I was really curious about GD offering to sell my fast-transfer domain at a fixed price of 1/3 of my asking price and I went back and checked my spreadsheet exports from Afternic. Guess what, the domain was listed by me in my account at that 1/3 price in FEBRUARY, but since March at the newer asking price I had set that is three times that. So basically five months+ later Afternic/GD had not implemented my price change in the buyer interface. And so if I had contested the cut-price sale, well, the domain would already be gone from my account and they would just say, too bad, Afternic updates take time.

    There is no option to disable fast transfer on a domain, the only way is delete it from Afternic and re-list it. Dangerous stuff. And you seeing a new price you have set in the Afternic interface does not mean that is the price they buyer sees.


     
  7. YairDD

    YairDD Established Member

    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    I sold a domain with fast transfer 9 days ago and still didn't receive an update regarding the payment. the payout is still set as not scheduled.

    Why is it taking so long?
     
  8. YairDD

    YairDD Established Member

    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Also I see on whois that the latest update was on 4th august ( the day it was sold ) does this mean they still didn't transfer the domain?
     
  9. carob

    carob Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    4,333
    When it sells, it immediately leaves your account. Then it is seven days before they are willing to pay out and start to schedule payment, and after scheduling payment, there may be a wait of seven days for payment, in my experience.

    Does anyone know, when the domain leaves your account immediately, does it go to an account owned by Godaddy and do they make the buyer wait 7 days to get the domain? Or does the buyer really get the domain at once, just auto-pushed to a new account at whatever registrar the domain is at?

    Due to the lack of 2FA and finding that buyer may see a lower price than the price you have listed a domain at in the Afternic interface, I don't have enough confidence in Fast Transfer to use it anymore. And if it also keeps buyers waiting as well as sellers, it hardly seems worth it even if they remove the serious risks that we know of.
     
  10. YairDD

    YairDD Established Member

    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Yes, what about the buyer? because it's been 9 days and the buyer still didn't receive the domain, as Whois shows the latest update as the time it was transferred from my account to Afternic's.

    It takes so long to get the payment because they want to be secured that the payment is legit, so I guess it means that the buyer has to wait too, but why does it take so long to see if it is a legit payment or not
     
  11. z4z4o

    z4z4o VFDomains.com Gold Account

    Posts:
    669
    Likes Received:
    345
  12. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,730
    No not anytime that I know of.
     
  13. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joe, Could Afternic provide traffic statistics for ns3 & ns4.afternic.com landers?
    I'd hate to go back to smartname ns1 & ns2.afternic.com landers. Sedo or ParkingCrew are our backup idea.
     
  14. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,730
    You mean traffic data? No we don't do that now. We do do it on parking which is all the other options you describe. We have it on our list of things to do in the future at some point.
     
  15. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi Joe, Thank you for your reply. Yes, traffic data. Could Afternic give us a timescale please? If it is within a few weeks, that would save us switching to other landing nameservers at Bodis etc. Cheers
     
  16. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,730
    You can get it now the same way you are describing on bodis, parking. You can use smartname, Afternic's parking platform to park your domains and put a for sale banner on the top. Parking has stats on impressions and clicks.
    What you are asking for sounds like the for sale lander page which has not ads and the whole page shows it is for sale, not just the banner at the top. That will not happen any time in the near future. We are looking at something in the next year or on the GoDaddy side which would solve for this.
     
  17. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41
    Many thanks for your reply.

    Unfortunately smartname, Afternic's parking platform is notoriously awkward and requires much correspondence with Afternic so our account manager can flush out and fix smartname issues (eg in someone else's account). We just don't have the staff time available for all that correspondence and manual fixes

    Yes, we would like the ns3/ns4 sales lander to have impressions, stats. Hope it could be added in the future.
    Thank you
     
  18. Ja Kai

    Ja Kai Established Member

    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joe - Dan.com has this. You all, with your HUGE company, can't get something like this done
     
  19. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yes, it feels more like a lack of ambition at GoDaddy. The tech side is very simple, few lines of code on the redirect and a few more to pull up a report with SQL. One engineer around 5-10 days tops. Do you have someone with SQL experience?
     
  20. MasterOfMyDomains

    MasterOfMyDomains Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    4,326
    So you know our traffic but we don’t for ns3 and ns4?
    That levels the playing field for sure. Thanks
     
  21. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    3,730
    It has nothing to do with that. That is not the answer on many of the things people ask or of course it would be done. It is not a wordpress site or something where you can just go in and make a 5 minute update.

    The main reason we do not offer this now is that we use a third party software on the back end for that part of Afternic. It is not our software we can just change. That is how Afternic was when we bought it. In the current state we would have to purchase a license for each customer to see their info. We have purchased additional licenses for our top sellers.

    We have a balance of spending time redoing our older code, integrating the companies we buy into our code base, and releasing new features, or onboarding new sales partners, etc. We do all of this and have over the past several years done some amazing things on the back end to be able to integrate services better and faster and also allow for scale, worldwide. Like opening and supporting a European sales team that has landers in local language and support and sales teams in those languages in Europe. China is underway as well. Navigating through International compliance and infrastructure takes real time and hard work to get things to work on the front end seamlessly when someone comes to buy your domain on a registrar in China in Chinese that we added and had to do dev work to get onboard in the last year, or a sales lander in German in Germany getting to a broker on our team who is in Europe and Speaks German and gets them on the phone right then on their time zone. on our backend (most of the time).

    We have also been redoing the back end code for things like Smartname. Behind the scenes now that code is all pretty much redone and retired. There is now an easy way to get the domains that have duplicate records on parking to be removed from the person who doesn't own it and added automatically to the correct account on GoDaddy's cash parking using that code base. A solution for the smartname side will come in the near future. That work on the backend involved many other things as well for parking and now we are able to scale easier. We serve pages and ads faster and better, have a better performing template and are performing much better revenue wise for people who use us than at any time in the recent past with more improvements on the way in the near future.

    We have been heavily focused on improving sales reach, but we have also focused on a lot of things in the back end which will allow for other changes in the future to be faster and easier. The sales focus has helped our sellers overall see a dramatic increase in their average sales price, and average sell through rate over the past couple years.

    We have been having some meetings lately focusing more and more on the customer experience and that will continue to improve over the next year. Things like stats being available were discussed. Most if not all of the suggestions from customers on here were included.

    I appreciate all the feedback. That's why I am here, so please keep it coming. My point is that often there are other things going on. We are not ignoring you, quite the opposite.
     
  22. Ja Kai

    Ja Kai Established Member

    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    71
    I don't know why Godaddy.com doesn't want to be a superstar, in Registrar offerings and functionality of their site. Here are my observations - appropriate for this Godaddy "Bugs" thread.

    1) Godaddy doesn't get it.
    2) Godaddy's back-end is a disaster. Joe - everything is antiquated - programming wise. The domain manager still gets hung-up based on how you sort, transfers are still delayed at times, push's are still a disaster - I still receive emails that I'm the recipient of a domain I'm pushing elsewhere. People receiving pushes still need to enter in all their information, even when the sender checks the "no" box - and yes Joe, even when the sender includes both the recipients email and customer number. So many more indiosyncrasies - too many to mention.
    3) Godaddy should take all suggestions and implement. If I would like a counter - as many people would - why not make it happen?
    4) Godaddy (Joe et. al.) never admit that their platform is a disaster that needs a GIGANTIC overhaul.
    5) Godaddy's new CEO should fly the TOP TEN Afternic/Godaddy seller's to corporate office for a day of discussion - on how to fix Godaddy's giant mess.
    6) If Godaddy fixed their mess of a platform, I might bring domains back there. As stated previously, I use for expired auction purchases only.
    7) If Godaddy offered free "Domains by proxy" or reduced their rate to something reasonable, they would have many more URL's registered there.
    8) if godaddy would tell people in a email the reason for why an auction was cancelled, prior to sending refund, that would be great. Currently, the domain is simply switched from "won" to not won, and we are credited.
    9)If godaddy would send an email explaining WHY they are swiping a domain from someones account, rather than that person seeing that they are missing a domain.
    10) OMG - I could on and on
     
  23. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hey Joe, Ja Kai, I'm ready!

    Already explained many of these bugs to our account manager, eg the bulk accept pushed fails (impossible to accept in bulk), impossible to accept with any default contact info, must manually enter for every single pushed domain. Then all the strange emails, unclear if it really completed, need to manually check each.
     
  24. carob

    carob Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    4,333
    WARNING: That method of disabling fast transfer by re-listing does not really work.

    It may seem to work initially, then later stealthily Fast Transfer is progressively re-enabled on domains without you receiving an email with a link to click to enable it. It seems only Afternic "support" can disable Fast Transfer, but they may not even reply to emails.

    Some registrars may let you disable Fast Transfer at registrar level, probably a global setting, but that is not possible at Namesilo.

    As I said earlier, I now have no confidence in Afternic Fast Transfer and I do not want to use it.
     
  25. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    41

    Firstly, Many thanks for your reply Joe, and engaging with the domaining community.
    Could I clarify, the new ns3/ns4 landers launched in 2018 aren't part of legacy Afternic are they? They run on AWS, launched recently.

    Since 2016 there hasn't been any good reason to use proprietary or 3rd party. It's all Linux, LAMP etc since then.

    The redirect anyway is just a redirect, done at the HTTP level, it's one line of code that checks the resolving name, and does an HTTP 302 redirect

    ns3/ns4 runs on your AWS server 54.208.77.124 are you in control of this machine to make the changes?



    $ wget acecakes.com
    --2019-09-11 09:56:57-- http://acecakes.com/
    Resolving acecakes.com (acecakes.com)... 54.208.77.124, 35.169.58.188
    Connecting to acecakes.com (acecakes.com)|54.208.77.124|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
    Location: https://www.afternic.com/forsale/ac...C&traffic_type=TDFS_DASLNC&traffic_id=daslnc& [following]
    --2019-09-11 09:56:57-- https://www.afternic.com/forsale/ac...C&traffic_type=TDFS_DASLNC&traffic_id=daslnc&
    Resolving www.afternic.com (www.afternic.com)... 23.55.23.86, 2a02:26f0:a1:583::364d, 2a02:26f0:a1:5a2::364d
    Connecting to www.afternic.com (www.afternic.com)|23.55.23.86|:443... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 12680 (12K) [text/html]
    Saving to: ‘index.html’


    Can this HTTP 302 redirect be logged in mysql?

    While Chinese or German speakers may benefit some buyers, all our Chinese or German buyers write to us in English for our portfolio.

    This ns3/ns4 has to be the no.1 issue at GoDaddy. We've just lost a whole year with the buggy new Domain Manager, still buggy, our GoDaddy account manger does his best, manually fixing many things, but it's probably wasted 200 hours of our staff time. The old Domain Manager was great, much better. Feels like a lot of time might be being spent on things that aren't a good focus.

    Thanks again for engaging with the community.

    Let me know if you want me to fly in for a top level meeting! :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!
NameWorth
  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...