Dynadot

Nameholder Ethics

NameSilo
Watch

skiman10

Impact
Good Afternoon-

I am a newbie and probably won't spend much time here as this is not my field, but wanted to share with you an experience I had in the last couple of days with Huge Domains and see if you feel that what was done was ethical.

I set up a payment program for a $2000 domain back in early 2016. At one point during the payment program one of my payments did not go through because the card I had on file expired. I went into my settings and changed the card at that point.

So, at the end of my payment program I was sent an e-mail acknowledging my last payment and showing that I had "0" payments left. This was February of 2017.

Flash-forward to three days ago when, at 5:59 PM CT I received an e-mail from Huge Domains stating that my domain had been "reclaimed". I went to check my site and, sure enough, my site was parked and for sale. I had paid over $1900 at that point for the site.

I tried Huge Domains customer service line for hours without help and then e-mailed them regarding the issue. I received a response reporting that they had done an "internal audit" and had found that I had missed a payment in 2016. A heated argument ensued over e-mail- they still will not pick up their customer service line.

I DID NOT RECEIVE AN INVOICE FOR THE OUTSTANDING BALANCE AT ANYTIME BEFORE THEY "RECLAIMED" MY DOMAIN. IT HAD BEEN 15 MONTHS SINCE MY LAST PAYMENT, WHICH SHOWED THAT I HAD "0" PAYMENTS LEFT, AND RATHER THAN CONTACTING ME TO CLEAR UP THE BALANCE THEY CHOSE TO "RECLAIM" THE NAME WHICH HAS DISRUPTED MY BUSINESS FOR THE LAST 48 HOURS.

Eventually I paid the outstanding balance but to date they don't even have the decency to reset my MX records to point back to my $20,000+ commerce site.

Does this seem like good business practice? Ethical? Moral? I'd like to hear any of your thoughts as you all seem to work in this industry.

Thank you for your time.

•••