NameSilo

Godaddy Bugs

Located in Domain Registrar Reviews started by Recons.Com, May 18, 2019.

Replies:
70
Views:
2,684

  1. forge

    forge get set VIP

    Posts:
    4,218
    Likes Received:
    7,896
    How I know? Simply. If I scroll too fast, I see domains in uppercase for a second - and then java or whatever converts them to lowercase right on my screen.

    Yeah I just saw this too and thought it was kind of sketchy.
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. Blitzpotz

    Blitzpotz Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    669
    I do not like to whine but it is to serious to wink at it.
    Friday evening I received an incoming domain push. Two issues:

    1. Not limited to push
    FireShot Screen Capture #003 - 'Domainverwaltung' - dcc_godaddy_com.jpg
    I prefer Firefox and every site in the new Godaddy Managment is cut at the bottom like in the screenshot. In custom domain management I only see the first 4 domains, in MS Edge 500 domains. BTW I had told my rep and he said he´d never seen that before, period.

    2. Push related
    So I changed to MS Edge where the site view is ok. Chose the first box to accept the push and don´t change anything. But Godaddy won´t let me confirm and so forced me to choose box 2. Here I had to insert my Whois data which should be stored, shouldn´t it? Then a cryptic message said that I´d receive an E-Mail. Nothing arrived till now, push is anyway pending.

    Guys I cannot work in this environment. It is not just the process itself, it is losing faith in the security and reliability of it. Reminds me to Alpnames.
     
  3. carob

    carob Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    Spent over an hour on Godaddy chat trying to resolve a push, the advice they gave you could not implement because the button they wanted you to push was greyed out etc etc and finally the "support" person said this: "there are some things which is out of our scope of support". They kept claiming the recipient had not clicked on the link, but I was the recipient and had not received any email with a link to click. So I said if you can't resolve this, find someone who can, escalate it, that is what support is for. Support that says the issue is not for them - WTF?

    Had to cancel it and redo. Luckily it was two patient, rational domainers dealing with it, but this simple push took up maybe 90 minutes of time and caused aggravation. No thanks.
     
  4. Recons.Com

    Recons.Com Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    5,681
    Likes Received:
    10,997
    @Joe Styler

    Thank you. I am glad you are still active here and it was just vacation. You are our last hope in GD.

    By your theory, getting rid of old interface should resolve everything, while real life is completely different and it has got to the level of impossibly bad.
    So, now I get 400 error (whatever that means) when I try to access my panel via chrome or firefox. Normally, going into the incognito chrome would resolve most issues, because I guess your developers don't know how to code without conflicting with cookies. And even there see the screen what I get.

    Now how do I renew my names, manage them etc.? Do you advise every time calling the support? I have about 3000 domains with you. Do I have time for daily calls and do you guys want to spend so much money having your staff on the phone resolving simple issues that could be handled much cheaper and better by hiring more proficient IT personnel?

    godaddy-empty-panel.JPG
     
  5. tonyk2000

    tonyk2000 Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    As a curiosity, I checked careers.godaddy.com website. At this time, GD is looking to hire:

    Sr. Site Reliability Engineer
    Los Angeles, California; California; Arizona

    Requirements (among others):

    Ability to comprehend, analyze and research problems of a complex nature; make decisions and recommendations to lead the implementation into a production environment

    Senior Software Engineer - Backend
    Kirkland, Washington

    Responsibilities (among others):

    Write great code and create unit and integration tests that prove it.
    Participate in ensuring a high quality and performant system that engages and delights customers.
    Perform code reviews and participate in defining and supporting coding best practices.

    I beleive GoDaddy MUST hire the above mentioned engineers ASAP, as somebody has to "save" their basic domain management area.

    However, I did not find any open jobs for UX and UI testing exclusively. It is unfortunate. Maybe it is the reason why this thread exists? If so, myself and other NP members (bulk and professional customers) might do this for GD after they prepared this "new" system, but before it went live. What prevented GD from asking us? ;-()

    Cc @Joe Styler
     
  6. Blitzpotz

    Blitzpotz Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    665
    Likes Received:
    669
    It may be naive or not. But doesn´t this forum have a lot of members with extraordinary technical skills, a few handful of real Supernerds who also are experienced with Godaddy as their registrar. So, why not try to hire staff from here asap? Everybody could work from home today, at least most of the time.
    As I read this idea once more it sounds really naive. But I click the post button.
     
  7. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    This should not be happening. Can you pm me your account information. I have not seen this happening to other people and it is something important to get resolved asap.
     
  8. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    We do hire remotely sometimes, and we have a lot of offices around the world so one may be close enough to work from. It can't hurt to try applying.
     
  9. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    That is not a good answer from our support team. They can escalate it. We can see where the Change is stuck and figure it out. If it is still stuck please pm me the info and I will look into it for you.
     
  10. Soofi

    Soofi DomainX™ PRO VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    7,113
    Likes Received:
    3,775
    @Joe Styler, you are a life saver for most of us at GD!!
     
  11. Ategy.com

    Ategy.com NameCult.com Gold Account VIP

    Posts:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    12,447
    Just have to add my feedback .. in that while the new interface does have potential .. it really wasn't a great idea pushing the new one through on top of all the existing bugs and glitches.

    I've had all sorts of errors since the forcing of the new manager. More importantly there are still features missing and things often just don't work.

    What's worse is that this is a known fact by your staff as they seem even more frustrated than some of us are.

    I really don't understand the decision to close access to the old manager before the new one was at feature parity.

    @Joe Styler and @Paul Nicks .. seriously consider temporarily bringing back optional access to the old manager until the new one is truly ready to go. Don't just ask us .. please do go and ask your own staff!


    The problem with that is that anybody hired would need to give up (our addiction of) buying domains at GD auctions .. although .. apparently their slide and offices are dog friendly .. that's a pretty big plus .. and their head office isn't covered with 3 feet of snow in February! lol :)
     
  12. Recons.Com

    Recons.Com Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    5,681
    Likes Received:
    10,997
    @Joe Styler

    Mr. Styler, please do something about it!!! Now even in incognito mode of chrome, that used to be the last resort, I keep getting errors! What on the earth is 400 error??? Why you guys can't get it working!!! All I am trying to do is renew my names (((((

    error-400-godaddy.JPG
     
  13. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    Can you try just going to dcc.godaddy.com? There is a lot of other marketing and affiliate stuff in that link in your browser and if you are going to some outdated affiliate link that can break things. Using incognito shouldn't add that cookie so are you clicking a link to get to your account from another website that is adding that link, or have you saved it in your favorites or something? This would be the first thing I would check, remove all that extra stuff in the link and only go to the URL dcc.godaddy.com.
     
  14. Recons.Com

    Recons.Com Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    5,681
    Likes Received:
    10,997
    That affiliate stuff is just click through your rebate partners, like rakuten. It is freshly clicked. Your new interface apparently doesn't play nice with it. Also, I will do screenshot, when it does that with clean URL as well.

    If I were the management, I'd say to my developers that there are just too many complaints with the current setup of how cookies are handled, error pages etc. and they have to monitor each error on their end (they should be getting logs of it) and solve.

    Fun fact: I never get (even ONCE) anything of this with Dynadot, Epik etc., while this is my daily experience with GD.

    For example, I still cannot view any auction listing in chrome, as it gives me nginx error page. And that is with no affiliates.
     
  15. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    We do block some browser add ons. Are you using any of them on your Chrome or FF?
     
  16. Recons.Com

    Recons.Com Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    5,681
    Likes Received:
    10,997
    No, no addons. Just a click from Rakuten, or extrabux
     
  17. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    3,611
    Those cookies from the affiliates could be causing the issue. There is also the possibility that Google Chrome is throwing an error because they are trying to use a cookie or load from a cache and we updated the site since the last time the browser stored it. We have been making several updates a week to the new domain control center based on feedback from customers with the new user interface. We have been collecting the feedback via Premier Services and then meeting regularly with the developers to release new updates to fix any bugs, or add new features, or bring missing features back. The end result of this is we are making a lot more changes to the code base on that page and doing so more often than you would have seen in the past. Much more often in fact. In the past with the old interface we could not have executed this quickly.

    I'm not a developer but quickly Googling what you are seeing had several results which said if the page is not what the browser expects, especially a Google browser, it will throw a 400 error. This could be the issue as we are doing new releases every couple days or so which lines up with what you are describing before you have to clear your cookies again.

    At the end of the day the plan is to have a faster more functional domain management interface and one that has a newer code base allowing us to do these kind of quick 2-3 day updates based on feedback.

    If you let your rep know, they will be able to check in with the developers and have the look at your account.
     
  18. carob

    carob Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    I suspect the management IS the problem at GD. Always trying to do stuff as cheap as possible to push up the quarterly profits, not spending on staff, or routine testing before launching. Refusing to spend even five minutes to do easy fixes at Afternic, which they own.

    It certainly is possible to do the job right, if you are willing to hire decent staff, pay good wages, give clear instructions, give supervision, and observe good practices such as testing.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019 at 8:19 AM
  19. WatchDogue

    WatchDogue Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    14,270
    Today, as of this writing, for the third time in the past 7 days:

    Our GoDaddy email accounts are - unaccessible;
    Our GoDaddy hosted websites are - unaccessible;
    Our personal account at GoDaddy.com is also - unaccessible.

    As long term GoDaddy hosting customers these multiple hours long problems are - unacceptable!

    What " Bug " is this and more importantly, when will it be corrected?

    UPDATE

    Back on at present after aprox. 7 hours " out "
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019 at 7:20 PM
  20. WatchDogue

    WatchDogue Top Member VIP

    Posts:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    14,270
    Again, today, for the 4th time in 8 days:

    Our GoDaddy email accounts are unaccessible;
    Our GoDaddy hosted websites are unaccessible;
    Our personal GoDaddy account is unaccessible.

    What is causing these recurring issues and when will these recurring issues " down issues " be finally resolved?
     
  21. xeroox

    xeroox Established Member

    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    542
    Anyone else find frustrating the double login to access the auction? the pop up login never worked
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!

Share This Page

NameWorth
  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...