Undeveloped.com Experience

Discussion in 'Domain Marketplace Reviews' started by JudgeMind, Nov 12, 2015.

Replies:
190
Views:
9,954

  1. zeff

    zeff Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    22
    I agree !
    If you wanna see how a selling page appears, one of my domains listed for sale is urbanlifi.com. If you scroll down on this page, you will see the monthly trafic, a note i wrote about this domain, and a list of other domains i sell.
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. blumutt

    blumutt Established Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks for the replies and info Bob and Zeff.
    I still haven't opened an account with Undeveloped, as I'm still considering all my options. As I said before, I am new to this, and I don't know all the ins and outs of this business, yet. I'm sure it's a huge learning curve that has to be taken one step at a time.
    Is it advisable to have domains for sale on several sites? Or better to stick to one and see where it leads?
    I had some domains for sale at NameSilo and Sedo. I really like dealing with both of them from a support angle. If your domains are not selling, it's either that the pricing is too high, the names aren't good, or they aren't getting the exposure needed to attract potential buyers.
    Again, your input will be greatly appreciated.

    Mutt
     
  3. blumutt

    blumutt Established Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hey Zeff
    I just checked out your urbanlifi.com, and the page looks good. Nice description too.
     
  4. blumutt

    blumutt Established Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hey guys,
    Newbie here again. I finally took the final step and put up a few of my domains on Undeveloped.
     
  5. Undeveloped

    Undeveloped Founder @ Undeveloped.com Business Account

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    122
    Welcome on board Mutt :)

     
  6. Michael M

    Michael M Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    866
    As pleased as I am with the style of landers and their general customer support - I am not sure about the sales process yet. I sold a domain through their lander on 8/1. Was pleased to be paid one day after transfer to their GD account... But now about a month later I am getting an email from Undeveloped requesting an authorization code??

    The story so far goes...

    On 8/1 I transferred the domain to Undeveloped's GD account. As requested I did not opt to choose the change registrant's info.

    On 8/21 I received an email to authorize a contact change on the domain. I approved assuming it would be the new owner doing this.

    On 8/24 I receive an email from transferverify @ GD to manually confirm the transfer. I advised them I had sold the domain a month prior and transferred it then. They replied that the email was a fraud protection and the domain would be transferred in 5 days since I sold it.

    On 8/30 I receive an email from Undeveloped asking for an authorization code. I reply the domain is not in my account, let them know there is no authorization code in my email, and let them know about the correspondence with Godaddy's transfer verify.

    So in the meantime I check the whois for the domain in question and it is now at Enom under privacy with update date of 8/30. This worries me a little. I had checked this domain a few days ago and it appeared to be in the possession of the buyer.

    I still haven't gotten the story from Undeveloped on what is going on - but the privacy on the domain mixed with Undeveloped asking me for an auth code, and it being 1 day past the 5 day cancel period concerns me.

    If this domain has been stolen from the rightful owner then I feel obligated to try my best to help them recover it - if I can. On the other side of the coin it could be the buyer trying to scam Undeveloped - but that still is causing them and me unneeded stress.

    Just felt like venting and sharing this experience. I will update as the situation progresses. Hopefully it is just a misunderstanding somewhere...
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2017
  7. Undeveloped

    Undeveloped Founder @ Undeveloped.com Business Account

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for sharing your concern. I have to look into this specific transaction with the escrow agent in charge, however I can guarantee you that you've followed our escrow procedure as requested which means that you're insured by us for any issues that might arise after you're paid out. So don't worry you're all set.

    Domain transfers from and to Godaddy are the most frustrating ones due to their aggressive lock-ins. That's why our escrow procedure is different with them than with other registrars.

    If you have shared your concerns also via the official support channels or escrow channel our guys will guide you through it so again you don't have to worry. Since we've started in 2014 we haven't had one failed transaction and we'd like to keep it that way ;).

    Kind regards,
    Reza

    ,
     
  8. Michael M

    Michael M Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    866
    Reza,
    Thanks for the reply and I also received one from Simon this morning. Seems this was just a miscommunication from buyer to escrow. Simon confirmed the domain was received by the buyer.

    And to be clear I was not nearly as concerned for the guarantee in my end of the transaction (money) - as I was making sure that the customer received the domain - to ensure Undeveloped's good name and my own. :xf.grin:

    When I sell something I like to make sure the process is completed to all parties' satisfaction - including the marketplace. (y)

    Thanks,
    Mike.
     
  9. Michael M

    Michael M Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    866
    @Undeveloped

    A couple of recommendations:

    #1: When I try to change a price on a domain on the profile screen by clicking the icon beside the price - it does not save when I click the check mark. I have to hit the [Enter] key. (Chrome) Has been this way quite some time.

    #2: Change the default sort on the public profile to Price (High->Low) or allow seller to choose default sort. Right now I can not quite figure out why it orders them the way it does. Order=relevance... Relevance to what??

    #3: Much more detailed analytics, please! :xf.grin:

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  10. CJ6

    CJ6 Green Leaf Names VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    2,160
    I would also like to see more information on the hits.

    Also, does the number of hits filter out robots?
     
  11. Nat Hunt

    Nat Hunt Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    3,076
    I think it just places the shortest names first. I agree that default sort by price (highest to lowest) would be better.
     
  12. Michael M

    Michael M Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    866
    Actually - it places one of my longest names first, oddly enough. Then you are right, seems to be by length past there best I can tell.
     
  13. Captdocs

    Captdocs Established Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    159
    Moved 50ish domains to Undeveloped today! Really happy with the landing pages - most landers my ad blockers don't let me see and I have to manually unblock them in order to see the price, but with Undeveloped I have no problem!
     
  14. CJ6

    CJ6 Green Leaf Names VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    2,160
    Is there a way to set some domains in a portfolio for Euro and others for USD?
     
  15. Undeveloped

    Undeveloped Founder @ Undeveloped.com Business Account

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Here's my reply on the points you mention:

    #1: That's a rather strange bug that we fixed a couple of weeks ago. It might be browser specific. We'll look into it again.

    #2: The reason why we didn't order it by high price to lowest is because some buyers will not even place an offer when they see (high) prices when they're doing additional research about the seller. Most of us have a couple of high priced domains and we'd like to prevent buyers from getting the wrong first impression.

    #3: this suggested improvement is on the roadmap

    Take care,

    Reza
     
  16. Undeveloped

    Undeveloped Founder @ Undeveloped.com Business Account

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hi CJ,

    We filter bot traffic. Every week we add news bots/IP's to filter. Having said that though keep in mind that some bots are getting too clever so it's hard for us to block them.

    Take care,

    Reza
     
  17. Undeveloped

    Undeveloped Founder @ Undeveloped.com Business Account

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    122
    Welcome on board!
     
  18. Undeveloped

    Undeveloped Founder @ Undeveloped.com Business Account

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    122
    At the moment you can set a currency for all your domains, later down the road you'll be able to set specific settings like the one you suggest per domain.
     
  19. Michael M

    Michael M Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    866
    Reza,

    Thank you for you reply!

    I'd recommend allowing the seller to choose the default sort of their profile - if that is not to hard for you guys to implement.

    Thanks,
    -Mike
     
  20. Nat Hunt

    Nat Hunt Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    3,076
    A couple more sales via Undeveloped to report.

    3 weeks ago: $950 sale where the buyer accepted my counter-offer to his initial offer

    2 days ago: $1,495 sale where the buyer skipped the offer process and just BIN'd it.

    At this point, I'd roughly estimate I've been using Undeveloped for 3.5 months, have had 2 full price sales and 3 "offer" sales at some percentage of my BIN. I've maybe had an average of 400 names listed over the time.

    If I assign a "half sale" to the 3 "offer" sales, and treat the 2 BIN sales as "full" sales, it comes out to 3.5 "pseudo-full" sales in 3.5 months on an average inventory of ~400 names. That equates to a 3.0% annualized rate, which is a great start.
     
  21. wwwweb

    wwwweb Top Member VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Posts:
    5,513
    Likes Received:
    2,558
    Are the nameservers pointed there?
     
  22. Nat Hunt

    Nat Hunt Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    3,076
    I am having an issue with the Bulk Delete function, though. I have sent a message to support about it, but I'll bring it up here, too, in case anyone has run into it.

    bulkdel.png

    I just tried to bulk delete 47 domains and I got a notification e-mail from Undeveloped that the bulk delete had been "successful" and "0" domains had been deleted. (If it was successful, 47 domains should have been deleted.) The domains have not been deleted as of now, about a half-hour later.

    (The reason I want to delete these 47 domains is so I can re-add them all at the same time and change their prices in a more efficient manner. It is ultra tedious to call up one-by-one each domain and edit its price one-by-one like that. If I get them all added at the same time, it is much easier to just select all the names I just added and bulk edit their prices.)
     
  23. Nat Hunt

    Nat Hunt Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    3,076
    Yes.
     
  24. anantj

    anantj Active Member VIP

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Posts:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    1,900
    Why not use the edit prices function in the same dropdown list?
     
  25. Nat Hunt

    Nat Hunt Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Posts:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    3,076
    I didn't realize you could use it in that way. Great suggestion. Thanks. I'm still not sure why the bulk delete didn't work, and would like an answer from @Undeveloped. But I have now just gone ahead and uploaded a spreadsheet of the price changes and it appears to have worked perfectly. Thanks @anantj.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!

Share This Page

Loading...