NameSilo

Problems, Bugs and Fixes at Afternic - Report Problems Here

Located in Domain Marketplace Reviews, started by carob, Mar 12, 2017

Replies:
1,249
Views:
75,255

  1. MasterOfMyDomains

    MasterOfMyDomains Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    4,638
    I pointed some .ca to ns1.afternic.com and ns2.afternic.com and I see they now go to unsecure porked pages with ads. It wasnt like this before. BIN set, DigitalChain.ca is example.
    Why is it showing these money making ads for daddy and not the bin now price and layout like ns1 and ns2 were displaying previously?
    Click banner along top of page it goes to lander ns3 and ns4 would use.
    Do you have NS that will show the price with bin button like epik does?
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. AnthonyD

    AnthonyD Optimal Names VIP Gold Account

    Posts:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    4,308

    I listed 3 domains 5 days ago and none of them even show the for sale banner at the top of the page with ads. I thought that visitors would go to a page where they could make an offer, if interested. Its been quite some time since I've listed names at Afternic but this does sure look different than it used to be. As of right now, visitors have no idea those domains I listed are for sale.

    update: I changed to the nameservers to ns3/ns4 and now it shows a page for a visitor to inquire about the domain for sale but no pricing information is available. I have BIN set so I am still confused. What happened to showing the visitor the BIN price???
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
  3. Kassey Lee

    Kassey Lee Grandseeds.com VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    5,862
    BIN price is not shown on ns3/ns4 lander. This feature is not available yet.
     
  4. AnthonyD

    AnthonyD Optimal Names VIP Gold Account

    Posts:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    4,308
    Thinking Afternic is not the place for me. Not a good experience after all these years of not being there. Only 2 of the 3 domains I have listed converted to that ns3 lander. The other two are still showing ads. Perhaps they'll change over time but my thing is, Afternic has been around for ages and this is what they offer? I am thinking I havent been missing much and will probably pull these names soon. Not a good selling experience.
     
  5. BrandCollectors.com

    BrandCollectors.com Restricted (Chatroom)

    Posts:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    .
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  6. Nat Hunt

    Nat Hunt Top Contributor VIP Gold Account

    Posts:
    4,979
    Likes Received:
    3,775
    Yes, me.

    I sold a name on Feb 10.

    Received e-mail that transfer was complete on Feb 17. Once I get that e-mail I usually/always get paid out (via Paypal) within a day.

    But the status in my dashboard remained "transfer complete" rather than "payout scheduled."

    But now I just checked on Feb 21 and it is listed as "payout scheduled."

    Normally this would've paid out on Feb 17 for me, so definitely something went off track there. Hopefully it's fixed.
     
  7. Sandra19

    Sandra19 Established Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can I push Porkbun.com registered domain to Afternic's porkbun account? Recently sold a domain less than 60 days old and I need to push so as to be paid Asap
     
  8. richtrading

    richtrading Established Member

    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    42
    Could I ask for an update please.

    Recently there is the profile change bug, sometimes GD applies nameservers but still leaves in old profile. For last 60 days even "remove from profile" fails. Our account manager has passed it to developers but not fix. Can we set up a call with yourself? Thanks
     
  9. xeroox

    xeroox Established Member

    Posts:
    501
    Likes Received:
    687
    There is a bug that reset the arrangement of the columns every few days, is there a solution?
     
  10. Skyvisum

    Skyvisum Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    2,482
    Bugs bugs bugs .This is upsetting @Joe Styler .I have a closed transaction already and another happening already .Why does it keep resetting my account info ?I dont get it .Afternic needs a total overhaul .

    I rather sell my names through Godaddy buy service and get my payment not wait for a bug or whatever it is that resets my payments info and delays me again.I have 2 transactions,one already completed and payout delayed and a new one already being processed and definitely would be delayed because of this bug resetting my payment choice .I am tired of using afternic for payment and would prefer they pay through Godaddy .

    As i type this,I am waiting for my account exec to give a call back so we can sort this out again even if he told me everything was fine just last Friday.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2020
  11. Skyvisum

    Skyvisum Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    2,482


    Update: After speaking with my Account Exec and then calling afternic, I got it fixed but payment will take couple of days still.So upsetting, but I am all good now. If it happens again, I would be back here again.🙂
     
  12. Skyvisum

    Skyvisum Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    2,482

    Update:Afternic bug is back again.I am considering not using them again soon because I can't allow my payments to be delayed since they cant fix their bug.I celebrated too soon.I am disappointed with afternic issues.Last time I had to use paypal and got charged a fee even if they caused the mess with my payments.I opted for paypal so payments is not delayed but I am not using paypal this time around as it would be too much fees..Will be making a final decision after this. I dont depend on a single marketplace to sell my names ,and if their broker contacts me ,it would be a no except they go through Godaddy.

    I have sent an email to my account exec and [email protected] and attached the bug page.

    And I get to pay 20% for all the trouble and delays.
     
  13. Skyvisum

    Skyvisum Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    2,482

    Update:Afternic got back to me and confirmed there is indeed a bug.Below is what I got from them;

    Thank you for contacting Afternic Support.

    I have confirmed that you have submitted your payee settings. There is a small bug on the website that does not update to remove the alert for some users. I have fixed this but for a very small number of users, the issue may reappear. If you see the alert again just ignore it, as it's a fault in the code that we have advised our developers to fix, but it is NOT revenue impacting since I have confirmed all your payee details are submitted.


    So now I know better. Got paid also today for the first transaction 😉.Waiting for the second 👍.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2020
  14. Michael M

    Michael M Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Mine has been like this for some time. Updated it twice in the past. Sold a domain and they made me update it again. Just sold another domain and I was going to wait and see before I updated AGAIN. Hopefully payment comes through smoothly. Thanks for the update!
     
  15. tonyk2000

    tonyk2000 Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    3,024
    I see the reminder to update payee details for a long time. I think it appeared in Q1 of 2019 or so. Since I updated the details once and saw all green marks in payee review - I decided to start ignoring this reminder. So far, it works. Afternic pays...
     
  16. Michael Norris

    Michael Norris Design & Development Gold Account

    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    51
    Is it safe to list a domain here now? Seems like a lot of bugs
     
  17. Skyvisum

    Skyvisum Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    2,482
    How can I change a broker or account executive who is assigned to handle my afternic requests?

    This same one assigned to me is not motivated to sell.I have sold through other price requests handled by others.

    I had to email a follow up yesterday after like 10 mins to ask about a price request that came in before he responded that buyers were willing to pay $1k and $5k at most and that buyer would be speaking to their partner about it(Not accepting anything less than low 5 figs by the way as I know who they are 🙂)

    So my question is,if I didnt ask ,I would never get an update ?I have just started doing that so I can adjust my prices but I really need this same guy taken off my account as I see weakness from his response. Same guy blew a small $2k sale when I told him to accept as he went ahead to ask for more.

    Other brokers have gotten me sales but this same guy 🤔.
     
  18. DomainBarracksRob

    DomainBarracksRob Top Contributor VIP

    Posts:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    3,958

    I've had a similar situation, where a Broker contacted me with a 1.5k offer on 5K BIN, I responded with what I wanted NET RETURN...never heard back after 8 days, so I emailed the broker and asked whats up....he said that the original was the max ....(OK...so WHY NOT LET ME KNOW THAT???) ....after finding this out ( ON MY OWN)...I told him go ahead and accept if still possible, lucky they and I made the sale.....as it was hand reg that year

    but still what a lazy ethic for a "Broker/Salesmen"...to not even relay this back to me.

    So I feel you ...
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2020
  19. Michael Norris

    Michael Norris Design & Development Gold Account

    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    51
    So can I not opt in for the fast transfer? I hear there are problems with it and it is my first time listing on Afternic, so I do not want to do this.
     
  20. xynames

    xynames XYNames.com PRO VIP

    Posts:
    4,138
    Likes Received:
    8,835
    So don’t opt in.
     
  21. krishmk

    krishmk Top Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    209
    Fast Transfer confirmations/approvals are not getting updated in Afternic.
    Issue exist within the last few days.
    Anyone else having this Issue?
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2020
  22. DrJacoby

    DrJacoby Established Member

    Posts:
    571
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Yes, I have one domain that I opted in for Fast Transfer about two weeks ago that still hasn't been updated, even though I have contacted support.
     
  23. tonyk2000

    tonyk2000 Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    3,024
    In recent ~2 months or so, I noticed the following unusual behavior:

    a) Fixed-priced fast transfer afternic listings, are much more frequently showing "pending sale" status for a few days, and in many cases they end up on GoDaddy registrar (successful sale).

    b) Similarly, GoDaddy premium listings (in which system I duplicate my GoDaddy-regged afternic listed domains) are first reported as sold, and only after a few days they are actually delivered to the respective buyers. If the premium listing is sold - then all what whois shows would be "No match for <..> in the registrar database" for a few days.

    c) Not all GoDaddy-releated aftermarket sales are affected by the above. Some sales are instant - as it should be.

    I'm speaking about routine sales (4 figures or even 3 figures), not million dollar sales... So it appears that GoDaddy registrar either has issues with automated delivery of premium domains received via either channel, or may be a lot more sales are now going to manual payment approval. In some cases (such as paypal payments funded with checking account) there must be a delay (before echeck is fully cleared), but... there are too many delays recently.

    Even though it does not noticeably affect the seller, I'm still somewhat concerned. As a seller, I always do my best to deliver what I sell as fast as possible (be it afternic/godaddy channel or any other channel). Domain delivery delay is not a good experience from customers point of view! And the buyers, even though they are purchasing through GoDaddy, are also my customers in some aspect...

    @Joe Styler - can you check please, are there any changes as to how premium domain sales with expected fast domain delivery are now processed by GoDaddy?
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2020
  24. Joe Styler

    Joe Styler Aftermarket Product Manager GoDaddy Staff Afternic Staff PRO VIP

    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    4,245
    I think there was an issue earlier this week that was fixed. If you keep seeing it let me know. Long term though Premium listings are going away so you should start adjusting to the Afternic sales channel as it will replace them.
     
  25. tonyk2000

    tonyk2000 Top Contributor VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    3,024
    Thank you @Joe Styler . The reasons why I'm still using premium listings (together with Afternic) for GD-regged domains are 2 known afternic issues, namely:

    1) Sometimes, active afternic domains may mystically (and temporary) go to "in review" status without any logical reason. Once, a few years ago (related posts can be found in this thread), ALL domains of ALL customers became PENDING REVIEW on a weekend! So, premium listings as an alternative channel allows to at least continue offering the affected domains on GoDaddy. I admit that I did not see this issue repeating itself during at least 5-6 months. Is it actually located and fixed?

    2) *unwanted feature*. I appreciate that Afternic sends my BIN listings to auctions.godaddy.com., but, unfortunately, GoDaddy/Afternic knowingly ignores my afternic setup as to floor price or mn. offer. I normally set all 4 pricing fields to be the same. This is because I do not want to receive or process offers. Unfortunately, auctions.godaddy.com still accepts offers on my PURE BIN afternic listings, with ~70% min. offer. It was discussed before. Resultingly, I have to explain this again and again to different afternic brokers who promptly email me each time such an offer is received!
    However, since the premium listings are showed instead of afternic ones, my GoDaddy domains are not affected by the above (if confgured as premium listings together with afternic).

    Joe, are there any chances for afternic/godaddy to finally start respecting sellers configurations while distributing listings to auctions.godaddy.com ?

    As for the issue I orginally referred to (delayed delivery of aftermarket domains sold by GoDaddy), it actually happens with both channels. And, it still happens. Afternic domains are first "pending sale" for a few days. Premium listings, as there is no "pending sale" for them, are reported as SOLD to my email, but are not delivered to their buyers in timely fashion. For example, on Thu, 23 Jul I received "Your Premium Listing Just Sold" email, and, at the time of this writing (Saturday), it is not yet delivered to the buyer -

    whois:
    No match for <...> in the registrar database

    Will now PM you the domain as an example. No explicit action is needed with this particular sale, it is not the 1st time, the buyer will receive it up to the end of next week (/me thinks based on previous experience/. But why the delay?
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2020

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!
NameWorth
  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...