IT.COM

guide How to offer our domain to established company

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

sohel momin

Top Member
Impact
I bought an expired Domain from Godaddy. When I searched that domain on Google it shows a company which has an almost same name. just the difference in letter-K. My domain has single K and company has double KK.
Should I offer my Domain the company or sell it outside? Please Help.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
if they already have a domain, then why would they want yours?

imo...

•••
Ask them.
You dont lose nothing asking.

•••
@biggie they might want to upgrade their current domain name especially if it is a typo

Last edited:
•••
I'm no expert on trademarks so correct me if I'm wrong.
If their name with double kk is made up brand name TM and you have non generic made up name with single k it may be an issue beings it's confusingly similar.

If not then offer it, they may want to purchase single k to redirect type in traffic to their main site.

•••
•••
It would be best to know the names, but it seems you have the superior one in this case.

I would do both, contact them and then sell on the market if a deal is not reached.

Good luck!

•••
Unless the 2nd K gives an alternative meaning to the domain .. then you are essentially trying to sell them something they own the trademark rights on. So while it really depends on the specific domain (you will NEVER get accurate trademark advice from someone who doesn't know what the actual domain is), it could land you in trouble.

Obviously it all depends on the price as well .. if you offer it to them for $99, even if it is illegal .. they might just pay you anyways because it will be much cheaper than the alternative .. but they could theoretically sue you if they think it's worth it.