IT.COM

Gmail Trademark

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Hi

Anyone know if Gmail has a global trademark? I know they had a challange in the UK with a company operating with Gmail prior to Google but other individuals have registered Gmail in other countries without any reported problem???

Thanks for any help

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I think it may be that Gmail's trademark is only in how it's branded.. eg: the M superimposed onto an envelope, and the different colored letters similar to Google itself..

I dunno though.. I'm no legal expert. *shrug*

•••
They're all trademarks. Everything related to google is a trademark.

•••
tinggg said:
Hi

Anyone know if Gmail has a global trademark? I know they had a challange in the UK with a company operating with Gmail prior to Google but other individuals have registered Gmail in other countries without any reported problem???

I doubt there's a global trademark. You'd have to register for a trademark in
the area you intend to do business in, I think.

On the other hand, if you check the UDRP cases at WIPO and NAF, you'll find
numerous cases where domain name owners infringed on a trademark or so,
but won because they proved they have either legitimate uses for their
domain names or didn't use them in bad faith.

Read up the UDRP at http://www.icann.org/dndr/udrp/policy.htm . This will at
least give you an idea how it works.

•••
Google has a trademark, but Cencourse has an earlier one. Filed the day Google announced the service. What do you call cyberquatting when there's nothing cyber about it.

Also, thyere's no such thing as a global trademark or international patent regardless of what anyone “knows”

•••
Hi