NameSilo

Good Registrars to use in 2024?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Studio99

Impact
I am a noob. I've skimmed articles and reviews - and nothing seems to be clear when it comes to good registrars. Some seem to be over-priced. Some seem to change the cost of renewing your domain. This bothers me if I read it right. A normally $10~15 a year domain can be turned into a Premium Domain by the Registrar on a whim, and suddenly, it a $300 or $3000 domain to renew???

Can that happen to anyone? Or to any company that is using their domain name for their business?

Do ALL registrars do this? If not, which ones do or do NOT raise the price on Registrations?

Which ones are better to use?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
A normally $10~15 a year domain can be turned into a Premium Domain by the Registrar on a whim, and suddenly, it a $300 or $3000 domain to renew???

Registrars don't have any control over the price class of a domain. It's the registries that decide if a domain is standard or premium. In fact, if it ever happens to you, your registrar is the only party that's likely to give you information about what's going on.

Can that happen to anyone? Or to any company that is using their domain name for their business?

It's not supposed to happen and it's not common. If you're concerned about it, stick to .com.

Do ALL registrars do this? If not, which ones do or do NOT raise the price on Registrations?

Virtually none of the registrars raise prices on a whim and they can't get away with any significant price increases. There are a lot of registrars and healthy competition between them. It's the only part of the industry that works well for registrants.
  • Registries control the TLDs and set the wholesale prices. They don't deal directly with consumers.
  • Registrars provide registration services. They have small margins and deal directly with consumers to provide domain management, support, etc..