Dynadot

question What’s considered infringement?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
There are many "io games" that don't own the corresponding domain.
Did you notice increased traffic to your domain because of this game?
I'm not sure if I would worry about it much. You probably don't have any leverage unless you registered a TM for this name.

•••
Seems pretty blatantly obvious. You could reach out to them and tell them you own the domain and ask them to take it down?

•••
@pb

If I own domain.com and someone starts a business called domain.com, there's nothing you can do from a legal standpoint without a tm?

•••
@pb

If I own domain.com and someone starts a business called domain.com, there's nothing you can do from a legal standpoint without a tm?
Exactly my thoughts

•••

Well can you? I don't know, I am not a lawyer. You have a line of defense in case they want to hijack your domain but can you prevent them from using this name just because you own a domain? I wouldn't be so sure. [side note, I actually encountered a few companies named something.net where they didn't own the corresponding domain. I don't recall .com examples though]

Here the case is even lighter, it's not a business name, just a silly game. I own IdleVillage.com, can I prevent someone from naming their game IdleVillage.com? On what grounds? Again, I'm asking, not stating.

[edit] Another example, I own many .pl domains - there are many perl scripts named similarly to my domains - should I go after them? ;)

[edit2] ok, there's a 30-year-old company named TRADER.COM who never owned this domain.

Last edited:
•••
Your domain isn't developed so there's not a lot that they have infringed upon. No established trade, no goodwill, no recognition by anybody other than the few that may recognise it as a domain name. I don't think you could do anything about it.