Dynadot

question Trademark question

NameSilo
Watch

Jak Blak

Established Member
Impact
Hi all,
I’m just starting out. Without doing any research (I watched a video on youtube), I bought a domain to see if I could get ROI. I paid .99. Let’s say that I bought Toyota of Jacksonville. There is a big Toyota dealer in Jacksonville - Smith Toyota, And other Toyota dealers in the area, but no exact name matches. Since I am not Toyota nor a Toyota dealer, and I am guessing Toyota is trademarked, can I legally try to sell this domain to Toyota dealers? Or am I asking to get sued? Thank you.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Read - This question has been asked here 1075 times.
Why do you expect people to read for you?
You can buy and sell any car name that are not in business - not Toyota.

•••
Read - This question has been asked here 1075 times.
Why do you expect people to read for you?
You can buy and sell any car name that are not in business - not Toyota.
Thank you

•••
Hi all,
I’m just starting out. Without doing any research (I watched a video on youtube), I bought a domain to see if I could get ROI. I paid .99. Let’s say that I bought Toyota of Jacksonville. There is a big Toyota dealer in Jacksonville - Smith Toyota, And other Toyota dealers in the area, but no exact name matches. Since I am not Toyota nor a Toyota dealer, and I am guessing Toyota is trademarked, can I legally try to sell this domain to Toyota dealers? Or am I asking to get sued? Thank you.

Don't even go there, If you contact a company per say like Apple, and try to sell them IPOD???.com , they will thrash you, the repercussions of what could happen are wicked bad.

•••
Don't even go there, If you contact a company per say like Apple, and try to sell them IPOD???.com , they will thrash you, the repercussions of what could happen are wicked bad.
Thank you

•••
Welcome to Namepros, and thanks for asking and educating yourself.