Dynadot

discuss Share your interesting domain negotiations...

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

w3names

Established Member
Impact
Several times over the years I've had negotiations where the buyer feels entitled (or think they're being clever) and either:

- essentially asks that you to give them the domain for free because they have an "idea", or
- gets angry because the domain is not available at the very low price they want to pay

Here's the latest one for me on Sedo:

Buyer: Dear owner of example.com, please dont get me wrong but nobody will ever buy this domain at 4.999$ and i am sorry that this is not affordable to me either. Please consider to give away your domain to me for a good reason: I am an affiliate marketing professional that seeks to make example.com the center of my worklife and it would be my greatest pleasure to grow this domain into a profitable company. Please think about being generous and do good by letting me project this precious piece of cyberspace that you have protected for some time. Thank you

Me: Alternatively, you can make a serious 4-figure offer. Best wishes.

What interesting sale negotiations have you had?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I would not have been so kind...lol

•••
I had one with a guy who couldn't understand why someone previously paid 4 figures for a domain I own. He offered $500 max saying that's a generous amount. I said no way.

Now I am taking that name and developing it into a business. He should have bought it when he had the chance. I bet he went with some crappy secondary option that will just end up giving me more traffic :xf.laugh: .

•••
Recently I got an inquiry for one of my domain.

Inquirer:
Hello,
A few days ago you reregistered XXXXXXX.com, a domain we’ve owned since 2001.
Please be a gentleman and return the domain to its rightful owner.

ME:
I responded with my usual response and quoted price.

Inquirer:
Just keep it - no interest.