Dynadot

[Resolved] PHP Help

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
PHP Help

First of all I'm new to php and I need some text to be centered using php code. How do I go aobut doing that? Thanx in advance.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Welcome to PHP :)

You wouldn't center text in PHP, it would still be done in HTML, just being sent to the browser using the php print() construct:

PHP:
<?php
print "<div style='text-align:center'>This text will be centered</div>";
?>

If you are looking for some PHP tutorials, head over to http://www.webjuniors.com/showthread.php?t=249 - quite a few tutorials I have written, I try to add one every couple of days :)

•••
Don't count on using style attributes inside div tags; not all platforms support this (think IE on pocket PC for one). It won't validate as anything but html 4.01 transitional or lower, but you can use this:
PHP:
<? print '<div align="center">Centered Text</div>' ?>

•••
monaco said:
Don't count on using style attributes inside div tags; not all platforms support this (think IE on pocket PC for one). It won't validate as anything but html 4.01 transitional or lower, but you can use this:
PHP:
IF you use the adove, remember to add a ; after the ' :)

PHP:
  <? print '<div align="center">Centered Text</div>'; ?>

•••
Hitch said:
IF you use the adove, remember to add a ; after the ' :)

PHP:
  <? print '<div align="center">Centered Text</div>'; ?>

It is not actually necessary in this case as there is a closing php tag (although it is advised)

Try it and see the following is perfectly valid php:-

PHP:
<? print '<div align="center">Even More Centered Test</div>' ?>

•••
I'll do ya one better :) If all you're doing is printing something out and you're using short tags (as you are above), you can also dispense with print/echo and just use the '=' character:

PHP:
<?='<div align="center">Centered Text</div>'?>

•••
Or you could just use:
PHP: