Dynadot

warning Lost many of my expired domains even after I won them in the expired auctions at Sav.com

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Hello everyone,

This is one of the very bad experiences I had with the popular registrar Sav.com. In fact, I transferred many of my domains from other registrars to Sav.com for their uniform pricing for registrations, transfers, and renewals, and their intuitive interface. I had around 100+ domain names with them.

When I was on a business trip, I forgot to renew around 20 domain names, and they were all ended up in expired auctions, past the renewal grace period. I have been holding on to them for the past 15+ years. When I resumed my work after my business trip, luckily I saw those domains at Sav.com's expired auctions. I participated in the auctions, and won them.

Everything went well up to this point.

I was so happy that I am going to get these names back. The moment I received an email from Sav.com about the winning of the expired domain auctions, I logged into my account at Sav.com, and tried to find the invoices for the expired domain auctions I won, to make the payment for them.

I found none.

Then I tried to fund my Sav.com account with an amount required to pay for the expired auctions, but guess what, prepay option is not there. I tried reaching out to the support team, and they told me that there is no way to manually pay for the winning auctions. They told me that their "system" is built in such a way that it will automatically try to charge the payment method on file, once in a day, and continue to do so for three days from the auction end date, in case if the payment method on file fails for any reasons.