Dynadot

Is this a new scam? Rec'd email from "Broker"

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

enterscope

Domain InvestmentsTop Member
Impact
I received the perfect email from a "Broker" that every domainer would love to receive, but it seems way too good to be true. Seems strange considering the domain in question was listed on Sedo for $XXXX

Here is most if it:

Hello!

I'm a broker of an investor from USA who needs <domain name removed> for a new project.

My investor may offer a sum in $10,000 - $50,000 range.. If you expect another figure, we can discuss it.

Please specify your desired asking price in the subject of your message.

Our company is in a web hosting business. We also provide brokerage services for domain buyers.

If you have other domains please email me the list with prices. I may offer your domains for sale to my clients.

How can we transfer money to you (escrow, wire, Paypal or Western Union)?

Best Regards,

Now his signature had all of his details name, company, phone, address and the company appears to be a legitimate company. That is what has me boggled. I sent a reply basically saying how fishy the email sounded, and to reassure me this is a legitimate offer and not some scam.

One thing that is strange is the domain name used for his email address FORWARDS to company url in signature. His email is [email protected] and the company URL is XXXXXXX.com

I found one other discussion about a similar email posted just a few days ago at:
http://www.nairaland.com/1239593/domain-name-business-easiest-most/186#32872987

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
This not a new scam. Rather a very old one.

•••
I had one "broker" from Norway, advising me his client would pay $xx,xxx for a domain I had listed on Sedo for $200, LOL.

•••
I emailed him back asking to reassure me that it was a legitimate offer and not some appraisal scam.... and less than a minute later I get this reply: