Dynadot

domains Are European domainers going to start getting shunned?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

equity78

Top Member
TheDomains Staff
TLDInvestors.com
Impact
As we get closer to GDPR being official more and more reactions and questions come in. I noticed today that Theo at DomainGang.com is going to block Europe from accessing his blog. Someone told me I should do that two weeks ago. I had a couple readers express their desire to ban Europeans from making offers on or buying their domain names. One reader came from a place of worry and the other a place … [Read more...]

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Before becoming a horse breeder I was a salesman and one of the most valuable lessons I learned was; when doing business stay away from politics and religion.

•••
Add the EU to the list, because they should have stopped with the "right to be forgotten" and the idiotic "cookie notifications". Now we all have to suffer under GDPR.
The right to be forgotten was introduced a few years ago and indeed caused some headaches. So in a way GDPR is nothing new really.
The cookie thing is indeed pointless. But you know politicians like to show they are doing something to protect you (while at the same time violating your privacy even more).

Just like television, let them have their laws that only apply to them in their region instead of having the whole world suffer because they are stuck in 2005, scared to death to use eBay and enter their credit card information.
You haven't noticed how the domain industry is US-centric. And usually the US always enforces its own rules upon the rest of the world, and we have to carry on.
Americans think that their rules are the best, and it's the most natural thing to do.
But now that the EU is taking the lead for a change, see the uproar. Funny. Why should Europeans always be at the receiving end ?