Dynadot

advice Trying to sell a domain directly to a corporation

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Domain Genius

Established Member
Impact
Hello everyone,

Has anyone bypassed auctions and just contacted a business or large corporation by email or phone to sell them a domain that is related to their business or target market of consumers and products? If so or if not, please let me know your experience and any guidance you can provide :)

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
@Domain Genius what a great username. The concept you are referring to is called "outbound sales" and is pretty common term with domainers around here too. In the fact there are lot of outbound sales reports in this thread which are outbound. Check it out, pure gold.
Peace. :xf.cool::xf.cool:

•••
Wow, I am really a beginner. I don't even know the basic lingo.

I checked out the thread a bit and outbound sales seems to work pretty well and there are lots of great successes. However, I am looking for advice on how to approach potential buyers of my outbound sales of domains. For instance, what should I say to them so they will give the sale a chance and not say "no" right from the beginning? Is there a different way to approach individuals vs. businesses/non-profits? If half of a domain name has a trademarked word, does that make the domain impossible to sell?

I appreciate the guidance so far ;)

•••
what should I say to them so they will give the sale a chance and not say "no" right from the beginning?
AFAIK, this approach is still somewhat a shot in the dark, else everyone else would be doing it. So try targeting as more potential customers as possible. Greater the number of potential customers, greater the success ratio. My point is nothing you write can compel them to say yes or no. It is simple matter of need.