NameSilo

Just completed my largest ever premium domain name sale! This is how I did it.

Labeled as poll in Domain Selling and Domain Sales, started by Crock, Apr 6, 2021

Replies:
Views:

?

Do you think I got a fair amount?

1. Absolutely!

11 votes
    64.7%
  2. You could have got a bit more

2 votes
    11.8%
  3. Not at all

4 votes
    23.5%
Total: 17 vote(s)
  1. Crock

Crock Software Engineer Gold Account

Back when the dot PAGE tld was released a few years ago, I was the first person to register 404.page because I thought it was super nerdy since "404" is a developer term and I'm a web developer. It is an HTTP status code that means "Page Not Found".

The original cost to register this domain on release day was $250. Since then, I've renewed it twice at a rate of $167 per year. Thus, I have $584 invested in this domain. I haven't done much in terms of outbounding to promote it because I enjoyed owning it for the period of time I did. It was my "flex" domain and just pointed at my portfolio and resume.

I have received a couple of offers in the time I owned it, but they were very underwhelming until last week when I received an offer for $600 through my Dan.com lander.

This would have left me with a profit of like $20, so I kindly explained to the buyer the situation and I was upfront about the premium renewal cost and told him how much I had invested in the domain. I gave him a counter offer of $850, which would give me a profit margin of $200 more or less.

My thinking is, if I didn't sell it now, I would never be able to sell it because every year I would be increasing the BIN price to offset the premium renewal.

To my surprise, he accepted my offer of $850 and I had Dan.com pay me through Bitcoin, so in the long run, the value I received will only increase since I'm not withdrawing it anytime soon.

After Dan.com fees, I walked away with the USD equivalent of $773, which I'm satisfied with. :)