NameSilo

Help. I'm new to idn

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I recently learned about idn. There's a few cool names I found that I'd like to register & they're a combination of characters, but my problem is how to host it?

I use 1and1.com for hosting, but they only allow
ä ö ü á à â ã ä å æ ç è é ê ì í î ï ð ñ ò ó ô õ ö ø ù ú û ü ý þ ÿ

What about url forwarding with masking? Like if in registrar admin I point url to forward to one of my other domains, or sub, etc, but have browser window show the idn--which idn registrar provides this? The idn's that I've checked all come up as available & they do show correct in browser window, but they're a mixof various characters.

Also, are IDN allowed under .org?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
69kHz said:
I recently learned about idn. There's a few cool names I found that I'd like to register & they're a combination of characters, but my problem is how to host it?

I use 1and1.com for hosting, but they only allow
ä ö ü á à â ã ä å æ ç è é ê ì í î ï ð ñ ò ó ô õ ö ø ù ú û ü ý þ ÿ

What about url forwarding with masking? Like if in registrar admin I point url to forward to one of my other domains, or sub, etc, but have browser window show the idn--which idn registrar provides this? The idn's that I've checked all come up as available & they do show correct in browser window, but they're a mixof various characters.

Also, are IDN allowed under .org?

.org stopped IDN a while back I believe. I don't know what their near term plans are.

As for hosting. You will have to manage your domains in punycode e.g. "xn--"