Dub.io - a new tool for parking your domains

Discussion in 'Domain Parking Reviews' started by Kevin Johnson, May 31, 2017.

Replies:
344
Views:
9,816

  1. Kpett

    Kpett Established Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    Likes Received:
    342
    i read this and gave it a try. I have a domain - a p p l e i n e w s . c o m - that I haven't done anything with yet. So earlier today I set up a dub.io account and have been given a url of w w w . a p p l e - i n e w s . d u b . i o

    I have created only one keyword: apple and so far there have been 2 sets of automatic postings on the site. The first had good apple news posts. On the second, about half of the posts looked like spam or foreign language posts, and one was for a school-related story that included an apple (like the fruit!). I was able to delete that content. I was able to see the site with the posts, and although some of the photos were scaled way too large, it looked like a good start.

    What I haven't been able to do is point my domain name to the dub.io domain yet. I'm on GoDaddy, created a CNAME of www and pointed it to the dub.io sub domain, but I then got all sorts of errors and GoDaddy help has not yet been able to fix it - they are telling me something bigger is going on with domains right now ???? and that I should wait until all that is fixed!

    Can anyone else see my dub.io site? Now I'm only getting a white screen ...
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. Kpett

    Kpett Established Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    Likes Received:
    342
    Update - deleted all the wrong subdomains and started over with GoDaddy. With a fresh start, it was easy to add the CNAME to point to the dub.io domain and it's now working! Check out www(dot)appleinews(dot)com to see what the site looks like without any customization. I've only set up 2 keywords ...
     
  3. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    Hi @Kpett

    Sorry you had a trouble, but I'm glad that it's all resolved. I see your site and it all looks like it's working well.

    Mind you we are actively looking at other types of domain masking too so that it doesn't have to be CNAME. There might be a simpler solution (e.g. nameserver changes) or even AAA record change.

    Anyway, if you run into trouble, let me know directly (email is on the dub.io website) and I'll help you out!
     
  4. domainglobus

    domainglobus Business Member Business Account

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Posts:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi

    first I think it's a very intresting concept. For me two three, things are missing that you should try to adress. (you might have gotten the same input from other user as well)

    1. DNS Setting: at the moment the domain needs to be forwarded to a sub domain this is not so nice. Dedicated Nameserver or IP Record would be better.
    2. Revenue: At the moment i only can monetize trough viglink.
      • Either the client can add his own adds or
      • You present your idea to some of the big advertising companies. Maybe someone of theme is intrested and you could integrate an add solution directly. You than could offer a revenue split between the user and dub.
    3. Quality of content: How do you unsure the content posted has a minimum level of quality?
    Once again overall I think its a nice idea.
     
  5. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    Hi @domainglobus

    1 & 2 (as I stated in the previous posts) - we are actively addressing. In regards to #1, I think IP-based A-Record is definitely do-able. Nameserver change is also possible, but might take a little bit longer to sort out.

    In terms of revenue, we are adding a few ad platforms in the coming weeks. Google Ads is nice, but we won't display it on automated posts - but we just launched a feature where you can also submit a post - so Google Ads on those contents will be displayed from now on.

    In regards to #3, we don't necessarily "filter" contents ourselves. Our users, who essentially manage their sites on Dub.io can edit/delete contents in any way they want. They can control it from importing from feeds, and setting filters.

    In terms of manual content submission, currently it's available only for the site owners. But we are rolling this out so that you can let any one submit posts. When this is rolled out, you'll have the ability to "accept" or "reject" contents. Hopefully, that will maintain the content quality - open to suggestions though!
     
  6. Kpett

    Kpett Established Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    Likes Received:
    342
    Hi @Kevin Johnson

    Not sure if spending time on having folks submit posts is your target business plan - if website owners want to post, then they wouldn't be parking a website with you - even if it's for Google Ads (I think) for a particular post.
     
  7. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    Hi @Kpett

    Good point!

    I suppose, we are only enabling this feature because it's been requested a lot by our users. You as a user still have a complete choice though. You can make your site either completely automated (via feeds, keywords etc) or you can make it semi-automated (feeds, keywords + some manual posting) or make it more manual (little bit of feeds, keywords, manual post by the owner + members).

    We'll try to make that a bit more clear on our homepage. :)
     
  8. slader23

    slader23 Active Member VIP

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Posts:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    I think what you're doing is awesome. Really appreciate your work.

    LiveActionFilms.com

    Didn't really have the time to dev this but...you guys...are my solution, very happy!

    Slader
     
  9. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    @slader23 Thanks for your kind words. Let me know if there's anything else we can help you with. Hopefully, our little tool will continue to grow. :)
     
  10. frank-germany

    frank-germany Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    4,463
    Likes Received:
    4,356
    Hello Kevin,

    after I learned how to cname to you
    I really started to like your system ;)


    http://www.costofbrexit.com/


    now I would like to have
    like a vey long banner
    at the very top of page

    that claims "Buy This Domain" ( editable)
    where I can add a editable link to my sales page
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017
  11. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    @frank-germany

    Awesome. I'll take your feature request and put it at the top of the list. (y)
     
  12. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    By the way, we will also release a feature to point to a domain via nameserver, so that you don't have to use CNAME (I think that was your previous feature request!)
     
  13. ProDomanico

    ProDomanico Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Posts:
    595
    Likes Received:
    553
    I am going to try mine.. what are the nameservers to be pointed by the way?
     
  14. ProDomanico

    ProDomanico Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Posts:
    595
    Likes Received:
    553
  15. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    HI @Leela

    Feature for pointing to a nameserver is coming soon - not yet available! Will let you know once it's ready.
     
  16. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    We just released the feature to point to a nameserver. This should simplify the whole domain pointing process - also updated the documentation too. Would love for you guys to check it out. @Leela @frank-germany
     
  17. frank-germany

    frank-germany Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    4,463
    Likes Received:
    4,356
    @Kevin Johnson

    I am very impressed with your commitment and
    speed of implementation

    thank you
    Frank
     
  18. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    @frank-germany

    Thanks for your kind words. Not trying to out-do ourselves on purpose, but you can now enable your site so that you can "sell" your domain. If you go to "domain settings", you should be able to configure it so that your site will show a banner on the left hand side obvious enough which users can click. This (for now) simply opens up email or takes the user to a URL where you can start discussing the domain purchase.

    We'll (obviously) make this more flexible in the future e.g. letting you be able to change the message, styles etc. But hopefully this is a start. :)
     
  19. frank-germany

    frank-germany Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    4,463
    Likes Received:
    4,356
    for me it would be cruical to define my own url here
    as I worked a lot to make that page as good as possible
     
  20. frank-germany

    frank-germany Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    4,463
    Likes Received:
    4,356

    "C/ost// OfB// rexit//.com currently does not have any domain name connecting to it. Selling domain feature is only available when you are connecting your own root-level domain name to your Dub.io site. Please click on "Your own domain" tab to start using your domain for Cost// OfB// rexit//.com."

    true as I use www.C/ost// OfB// rexit// .com

    please check
     
  21. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    @frank-germany

    Apologies - should be all good now. Please try again.
     
  22. frank-germany

    frank-germany Business Member Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    4,463
    Likes Received:
    4,356

    thank you Kevin
    feature works perfectly now

    what I do not like is the way you display it on page

    1) there is no need to show the url
    http://www.domain.com

    I would refer
    domain.com

    2) due to banner blindness
    a small black banner will not get any attention is guess
     
  23. Kevin Johnson

    Kevin Johnson Established Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    114
    @frank-germany

    You're currently using a sub-domain to point to Dub.io (via CNAME), but if you point your root-level domain via pointing to our nameserver, then you can remove the www part. I will send you an email with detailed information on this.

    #2, I saw your black banner and I do agree. Like I said, this is a start. We'll make this more prominent.
     
  24. bumper

    bumper Established Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Kevin Johnson,
    I have just added a domain FrankUsher.com, changed to your nameservers and created a twitter account for the domain.
    I have two problems. Once I changed the nameservers, then obviously email for the domain would no longer work on the old registrar, so how do I confirm email for my twitter account for the domain? Do I have to change nameservers back to registrar confirm email and then change back to your nameservers again or can my domain receive email on your servers, in which case I will ask twitter to resend verification email?
    Second problem is I need to add a feed of Ladies Fashion and dresses, because Frank Usher is a well known fashion clothes retailer. Where do I obtain such a feed or do you have them available in various categories?
    At present it is resolving as just an empty page.
    Your system has found 15 relative news items and videos but I cannot find a way to add them or does that happen automatically?
    I will sign into webmaster tools and verify the domain and get google analytics code etc.
    Thank you for your help.
     
  25. bumper

    bumper Established Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    How long does it take for something to appear on the domain homepage from either the news items or videos or adverts?
    When I enter FrankUsher.com in the address bar, the domain is already resolving correctly, albeit with a blank page but if you click the name Frank Usher then the subdomain appears in the address bar, when it should resolve with my domain name.
    More than likely I have not entered information that I should have entered for something to appear, so what would be good for domainers is a Step by Step how to create your homepage on your system and where to obtain the feeds required etc.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!

Share This Page

Loading...