NameSilo

Combining 2 poplular words to make domain name

Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I am wandering if it is a stupid idea to take 2 seperate words that have large overture and word tracker results seperately..and combine them to make a a domain name....for instance: I posted ballgaming.com for an appraisal on the appraisal board...one response said.."Bad name because no overture results"...this is true...but gaming by itself gets big results and ball by itself, gets big results...I was thinking that a ballgaming.com site could be developed into generating traffic because these are two key words that are very popular..and although people don't generally say "ball gaming" I think it would be easy to put together what the site is and also easy to remember...Is it irrelavent that these two words seperately generate a lot of traffic? I am still new to the domain name game, but it makes sense to me that popular names combined could be worked into a high traffic site. Am I way off here?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Well, just because a word on its own gets good results doesnt mean combining 2 of them makes for a great domain name. BallGaming.com to me sounds made up thus brandable. Your Ball Sport Betting angle seems to work and its the first thing that popped into my head as well as far as what the site would/could be about.

Its not a bad name but the problem with made up names is because they have no obviouse traffic or typeins one could prob. make up their own and develop apon it just as dev./promo/adv would be needed for BallGaming.com

That doesnt mean that someone out there wont want your name, I might have gotten lucky but I sold a made up name for over 2k, took 2 years but obviously the wait was worth while.

These days it seems that traffic/type in names are where the $ is but getting these names is also much more costly then a hand reg at reg fee.