KeywordDomains

Bodis/GoDaddy domain pointing help!

Discussion in 'Domain Parking and Traffic Monetization' started by GarethUK, Jul 17, 2017.

Replies:
13
Views:
517

  1. GarethUK

    GarethUK Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    128
    Hi Guys......okay, set up account with Bodis and it was easy peasy.
    I am just having difficulty pointing my domain at the Bodis servers.
    I've changed the nameservers on my domain on GoDaddy to the two BODIS ones but it still seems to be going to my landing page I made for free at Wix.
    What am I doing wrong?......I've tried to delete/remove the landing page link but it's throwing an error.

    Gareth.
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. GarethUK

    GarethUK Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    128
    .....when I try to delete my forwarding, GoDaddy is saying that my domain is not in an eligible status?.....huh?
     
  3. BrandingModel.com

    BrandingModel.com BrandModel.com Business Account VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    4,167
    It can take up to 30mins - 1hr before the name servers change over . I will work as it can also take longer at times (y)
     
  4. RS_Yoan

    RS_Yoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    66
    As long as you've set up your DNS records to point to your server, or Bodis in this case, there's a small DNS propagation period you have to wait for. It's 24 hours but it usually happens sooner, I've technically had a case where a person had to wait a full 48 hours for his domain to propagate the new DNS records.

    No worries at all, patience is key :)
     
  5. GarethUK

    GarethUK Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    128
    ...huge thanks!.....I think I was being a little impatient there!
    I have parked 3 but only two are redirecting.
    The one I was having trouble with when typed into a browser comes up with a green screen and a weird message that my domain is no longer parked at GoDaddy......wtf?
    It was never parked at GoDaddy!......any thoughts?

    Gar.
     
  6. GarethUK

    GarethUK Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    128
    .....think I'll wait until tomorrow.....these things usually sort themselves out!
    Thanks guys,

    Gar.
     
  7. RS_Yoan

    RS_Yoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    66
    Good luck. Do make another thread or write personally should you have any questions :)
     
  8. Paul Buonopane

    Paul Buonopane Tech Admin Tech Admin VIP

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    1,858
    @GarethUK, if it hasn't resolved itself by tomorrow, reply to this post with the domain name (or send me a direct message), and I'll double-check the settings for you. Like @RS_Yoan said, though, nameserver changes can take a while, and the time varies widely.
     
  9. GarethUK

    GarethUK Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    128
    ......legend!.....thanks Paul. (y)
     
  10. GarethUK

    GarethUK Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    128
    So just in the interest of learning how things work, if typically on GoDaddy, (because that's where my domains are!) you change the nameservers to the Bodis servers but you still have a forwarding address to a landing page, will the Bodis nameservers supersede the forwarding address?

    Gar.
     
  11. RS_Yoan

    RS_Yoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    66
    When you change your nameservers, your active DNS zone changes. The one that you have with GoDaddy will no longer be active, it will still exist however. The active DNS Zone in this instance becomes (probably) the default one of Bodis, and you'll have to enter the new records you want in that Zone to do all of the things for you.

    In simplification this is the way it works: You type a domain name in your browser, that domain is like (What are my active nameservers, oh there they are, do I have any DNS Zone with them, yes I do, let's just do that then) pretty much :)

    (There are some intermittent processes that happen, but that's a simplified way of explaining it)
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017
  12. baseballworld

    baseballworld Restricted VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Posts:
    13,686
    Likes Received:
    42,989
    I always just change my name server both of them and give it a little while to point to the parking companies landing page.
     
  13. stewmath

    stewmath Established Member ★★★★★★★★★★

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Posts:
    693
    Likes Received:
    788
    Id stay away from bodis, your account will get to payout threshold and then they will just ban your account saying the traffic didnt meet their requirements. I had it happen to me and ive read it happen to alot of others too.

    Scammers!!!
     
  14. alcy

    alcy Active Member VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    11,222
    Likes Received:
    14,453
    allow time for dns change
    else could be your old cookies

    try typing out whole address with www.

    or go to www.geopeeker.com
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!

Share This Page

Loading...