Dynadot

$299 Yahoo directory listening fee. Worth it?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Hello everyone,

I have a question for you guys. Do you think it would be worth it to pay the $299 annual fee to Yahoo to have a developed website I own (gets about 2k hits a day) listed in their directory? Have any of you ever did it or know anyone who has, did the traffic go up much?

I'm really debating if I should or not. $300 is a lot of money out of my paycheck (actually it's my whole weekly paycheck. :|)

Thanks,
Andy

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
sorry newbie here but is this just the search engine?? yahoo.com?

am i missing something cause $299 for a insert seems alot.

•••
I think it depends on the category that you'll be listed in. Some don't get any traffic and those that do are often overpopulated with other web sites.

•••
If it were a weeks paycheck then i wouldn't bother with the Yahoo directory...

It may turn out to be worth it in the long run but exactly how long, 1-5 years?

•••
blue^ray said:
sorry newbie here but is this just the search engine?? yahoo.com?

am i missing something cause $299 for a insert seems alot.
No, the Yahoo search engine is free, we are talking about the directory.

I would not recommend paying $299 for inclusion. If you can get your site listed into DMOZ, which is free, then you will automatically get into the Yahoo and Google directory. DMOZ can be hard to get into, but I don't think its worth it to shell out the big bucks for Yahoo.

•••
Put good content on your site and run it off at dmoz.org then wait and continue keeping good content, all the while working to get links from other relevant websites.

That'd more likely bring you a lot more benefits than coughing up a week's paycheck.

In fact, talking about a week, you're better off working several days to promote and get links for your site.

•••