Dynadot

.io Why .IO will greatly appreciate over time

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
So I'm convinced that .IO will significantly appreciate in value over the next decade.
Allow me to explain it from an angle that most domain investors might be unfamiliar with.

Some background first. I am not a professional domain investor but I've always had an interest in this market.
I'm an independent game developer with a special focus on casual multiplayer games, namely the so called .IO browser games. ( I own and have developed Ninja.io & Zapper.io among others )

You may or may not be familiar with many of the more popular .IO games like Agar.io, Krunker.io, Surviv.io or Slither.io.
These games literally have hundreds of millions of players, and their app versions often have 100m+ downloads. These are the type of games that kids play at school and adults play at the office, because they don't require installing any software.

Here's the thing: there's not a kid growing up without having played a .IO game at some point during their primary / highschool / college years. The domain is essentially burned into their collective memory, and in a matter of years these kids will be adults starting their own business, and they won't have forgotten about the extension. It will be a naturally familiar TLD to them, and this will offset its appeal compared to the many alternatives out there.

I think many investors underestimate the degree to which mere familiarity with the domain among youth will potentially influence its future value.

I've seen a bunch of great blog posts on .IO here lately, but none of them mention the importance of its exposure through gaming, which I think is vastly underestimated.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Great post. I agree that mindshare for .io is not only huge within the technology vertical but also among many youngsters due to the gaming link the extension has.