Dynadot

.uk domains - Good idea?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Hello all,

I am a newbie to the site, so please bear with me. I am trying to get some data on how popular domains that end in .uk are. I have been trying to dig around the Internet to try and find statistics on how many of these are registered or in use and how this compares with the .com popularity and how many of those are registered and in use. I have not been able to find any really good sites with some statistics, and this is just an interest I am new to and trying to be more knowledgeable on.

Also, I am trying to dig up to some info such as ppc prices in the uk and how this compares with US.

Thanks, any info will be helpful!!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hey beth,

I'm sorry i can't really answer many of your questions, but as for the main question, I think if you live in the UK they are a good idea, i mean there are a lot of small businessmen in the UK that haven't embraced the internet but if convinced in the right way, would be interested in a domain that suits their business name/type.

Where i am at the moment with the people i know, i am in touch with a fair few small business owners as friends and a lot of them are still being convinced by me that the internet is the way to go, and how it would benefit them. I mean its a sales pitch, but im doing it for them as a friend rather for the money. So i know UK-based buyers do exist.

•••
.co.uk has resale value - other .uk names are next to worthless as they're not very widely recognised even within the UK. Except for UK divisions of multinational companies and one or two major sites like bbc.co.uk, UK internet users tend to prefer the .com name, which means that the .co.uk market is nowhere near the size of the .de market in Germany. Keyword terms are still good, as are terms which are suitable for UK small businesses.