Dynadot

New to Domaining - $5,000 budget

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

LegalGuy

Established Member
Impact
I am somewhat new to Puchasing domain names. I have $5K to work with. I am looking for ideas on domains to purchase (LLLL .coms?) or websites to create for flipping purposes? Does anyone have any ideas of web sources to study to help guide me in my process?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
This is probably the best place to find that info, I would avoid purchasing websites if you are new to this, its a lot more involved and expensive

Read through this forum for weeks/months and avoid registering names until you get a handle on what names sell and how it all works

Have look here these for past sales

Namebio.com
DNJournal.com

Its not as easy as 99% of new domainers think, dont jump in and find a name you like and think businesses will love it so you register it, try and find end-users before you register a domain

•••
My advice...don't spend a dime.

Look at auction houses and recent sales to understand the market. After researching, buy just one domain and attempt to sell. This will be a test to see if you learned anything.

•••
Agree with Keith, don't buy a thing until you know enough to make a 95% confident decision.

•••
Please don't take quick investment decisions. Please spend time in reading blogs, good articles here and closely analyse the sales.

Sincerely follow Domain king advice - buy small number of high quality domains than large number of garbage.

I made most of mistakes in my 1st 2 years of domaining life due to lack of knowledge and patience.

•••
Domain investing and development are 2 separate, yet similar skills. Learning both at the same time could be costly. Try to focus on one at a time. Investing would be a good start.

Once you understand what people are buying you can then learn why they are buying those particular domains by developing a few of your own.

Good Luck :)

•••