Dynadot โ€” .com Transfer

Is this a scam?

SpaceshipSpaceship
Watch

wisconsin

Established Member
Impact
6
Hello all,

I received below email 3 times (was sent to 3 different email addresses of mine) Is it a scam? Thanks

These are the email addresse of the sender:
[email protected]
Paul Volksner [email protected]
Paul Volksner <[email protected]>



Dear Sirs,

I am looking for a list of registered .uk and .de domains. I am ready to pay for it very well, if you will be able to provide such a list.
According to official stats, currently there are:

7,799,823 .de domains
3,658,300 .uk domains

I need either a complete list or a list which will contain at least 1/2 of registered domains (at least for one of the zones).

If you can help, please contact me by ICQ: 274140281

Thank you for your attention!

Sincerely,
Paul Volksner
 
0
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
AfternicAfternic
I really can't tell. 3 different email addresses sounds like someone who knows you, to know 3 of your emails.

Maybe try to add him to ICQ and see whats up.


True_Snake
 
0
•••
yeah it doesn't hurt to investigate this a little bit, since you're not losing anything.
 
0
•••
Looks like a spam to me, but it doesn't hurt to try and see what's going on. I personally would delete the emails and go on with my life.
 
0
•••
I'd say that it's a scam considering About.com, Inc. is a large well known Internet company and with the CAN SPAM Act and the crackdown on spam, I'd highly doubt they would solicit email spam. It sounds like a bunch of scam artists that are trying to harvest a large list of .uk and .de extension holders so they can do whois on them and gain their personal information such as name, address, etc so that they can send out fake renewal invoices and notices to those owners.

I searched on Google to see what I could come up with and came upon this link which sounds like your email is part of this scam:

http://www.computeractive.co.uk/news/1131109

I'd just ignore the email as it's fishy either way. :o

:wave:
 
0
•••
I received exactly the same mail.

I think just some kind of mail harvesting to flood Germany and UK with more virtual rubbish D-: as:
Maybe http://www.computeractive.co.uk/news/1131109
preparing now the domain invasion in Germany ?

A good question in ICQ would be: What do you want them for ?
 
Last edited:
0
•••
Thanks a lot for all your replies and feedback!
 
0
•••
it is a scam, don't waste your time
 
0
•••
Appraise.net
Escrow.com
Spaceship
Rexus Domain
CryptoExchange.com
Domain Recover
CatchDoms
DomDB
NameFit
  • The sidebar remains visible by scrolling at a speed relative to the pageโ€™s height.
Back