IT.COM

question Is there a "Sweet Spot" price that seems to work best for you?

NameSilo
Watch
Impact
Hi guys.

For those who make a good amount of sales, is there a particular price that seems to work best for you?

Obviously pricing depends on the name, of course. But have you noticed a pattern over time? Any particular price-point that seems to be the "sweet spot" for potential buyers?

Thanks... 🙂

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
•••
I don't have much experience, but it depends on the name and the end user.

For example, a GEO niche domain, let's say for example for a car dealership, a sweet spot is $500-$1000. These guys don't have that much to spend on a domain.

For a startup company, a sweet spot is $2000-$5000.

Reserve anything more than $5000 for a domain you think a big player end user would want.

Again I am a newbie, so maybe someone else can give their thoughts.

•••
This is a great topic, thanks for starting it @Dane.

I don't have a lot of direct personal experience. It seems to me that there might be several levels:
  1. A solo person company or use - say one person part-time Shopify store
  2. A very small startup (few people) without significant funding
  3. A startup with seed funding
  4. An established business, even if small, renaming
  5. A big business or one rapidly growing and well financed
For (1) I actually think resistance past $500 or so
For (2) probably keep under $2k
For (3) $2k - $5k maybe bit higher
For (4) $5-$20k occasionally more
For (5) no real limit

Maybe @JudgeMind or @blogspotter might provide input? They both have had a lot of success and think about pricing levels, I know.

-Bob

•••
I have found there most definitely is a sweet spot price specifically for buy it now priced names.