Dynadot

Is GoDaddy the best place to sell domains at auctions?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Hi! I'm new to domaining and I'm trying to figure out the best way to sell hand-regged domains which are good in my opinion. At sedo I think the market activity is a bit low. Most of the domains sell with 1 bid and there are 9999999 domains listed and you never get offers. At Bido I can't get enough votes to go to auction and even if I get there, I can sell the domain for sh*t... I haven't tried godaddy but when I list the ongoing auction I see a way better activity, many bids and some good prices as well. So what do you suggest? OK, everyone says some blabla about how you could sell domains.com but it's no use. I'm talking about e.g. I registered forexprofession.com a week ago and I would sell it for $100 lets say. So the business model I'm guessing is handregging some good domains and selling quickly for high XX or low XXX. Can this be done or is this a bad model?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hi,

To be honest I don't see value in names like forexprofession.com. That names does not make sense to me. Available in other extensions too. I don't see what makes it so great.
In general, if you find a 'great' name still available you should ask yourself why :)

People don't like to buy, most of the time they will find another domain... I could for example register forexoccupation.com. Give me one compelling reason why I should buy your domain.

Saying that, it's still possible to find good handregged domains but it takes experience to pick the ones that have at least a chance of selling one day. Domaining is not easy, otherwise everybody would do it.

Exposure does not make bad domains sell better. If you have good names, buyers will find you.

•••