IT.COM

advice I have an addiction...

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Sjpals

Yeah, this is meTop Member
Impact
I have an addiction to buying domain names. I have been buying them since 2010 and have about 100.
I honestly had intentions of building sites on all of them, but as I have more domains than time, I am trying my hand at selling them. I am now not allowing myself to by any more until i sell at least 1!!! and im running out of will power.

Ive put a couple on ebay, afternic and dan (about 7 on each) and they are all for sale (if reg over 60 days) at the 2 registrars I hold them with.

All of them are .coms, most are single words and range from what I think could be good for ecommerce such as (bushily.com and toothypeg.com) to the bad (anjug.com - I thought this could be "a nice" jug and sell homewares LOLOLO and meowave - cat clothing maybe?? haha).

I have been considering other TLDs, but think I better stick with what I (kinda) know.

I have put them all on at 10K, im guessing that is way too high though? Should I be aiming at under $5K? or under $3K even? I realise that like most sales I guess I have to wait for the right person to buy and this could be a long waiting game. Do you do a 'proper' valuation or just put them on for a set price and hope?

I originally also had a plan that as I'm a domain reseller that if the domains were held under my account that people might keep them there and renew with me, but I am guessing that most people just transfer the domains to their own registrar and portfolio? is this what you do?

Much as i would love to just buy and sell domains as a full time job, I realise this is not a thing, especially with less than $100 to invest!! Going forward, I think my plan is to transfer them to my own reseller account, wait the 60 days, build a site and then sell the site. I think this may work better than just selling the domains.