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RyanS

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I am looking to purchase (geo)realestate.org or (geo)realestate.us. What do you think would be a better buy? Below is some info on the domains...

.net Asking $9,800 (1 index)
.org Asking $6,300 and has gone down to $3,800 (9 indexes)
.us Asking $1,300 (9 indexes)

Google keyword exact hits are 5,400

How much do you think .org and .us is worth? Which one would you go with? Would I be able to rank on googles first page with a org?

Thanks in advance for the replies!
 
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.org would be better than .us
 
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go for .org
How I value domains:
If there is 5,400 exact searches a month
your able to get 2,000 of those visitors to your website
average 2% lead conversion rate "quality lead opt in" not sales
= 40 contacts monthly = 480 in 1 year
if your average profit is $2k, you should have a CAC budget of 10% = $200 you have to spend to get a sale. If it takes 10 contacts to get a sale, then each person is worth $20.

Now, $20 x 480 "1 year" = $9,600

Personally, I only offer 6mo which would be $4,800 because you need to have seo done.

I don't know your numbers but this is how the value of the domain should be calculated for your business.
 
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I just sent this email to the domain owner:

"I have done research on past (keyword)realestate.org domains that have recently sold. Below are the comp sales:

commercialrealestate.org $1267 sedo 2006 (source: dnsaleprice)
commercialrealestate.org $1000 sedo 2011 (source: namebio)
gakt global monthly exact search [commercial real estate] = 90,500, approximate cpc (search) = $2.13

sanantoniorealestate.net $750 on 2011 (source: namebio)
gakt global monthly exact search [sanantoniorealestate.net] =5,400

coloradorealestate.org $350 in 2009 (source: namebio)
gakt global monthly exact search [coloradorealestate.org] = 8,000

These comps have keyword search volume much greater than naplesrealestate.org, which only has 5,400 global monthly exact searches. Also, note the negative price trend of commercialrealestate.org. With the following information presented, I am willing to present you with an offer to purchase the domain for $1350, that is more than fair comparing it to comparable sales."

I will see what he comes back with...

*I got those number from someone answering in the appraisal thread
 
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.org would be better than .us
I also agree .org, because this is the international generic domain,.us only country domain name.
 
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I would go with .us.
Real estate is local in nature, so .us is a good fit.
Unless you are an international operation like Century21 or DTZ you don't need the global reach of a gTLD. Sure, .com would be nice.

I know .us isn't very popular in the US, but .org still suggests noncommercial/not for profit.
.net has the '.com was already taken' stigma.

Now without knowing the domains impossible to give prices. Look at comparable sales.
 
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commercialrealestate.org $1267 sedo 2006 (source: dnsaleprice)
commercialrealestate.org $1000 sedo 2011 (source: namebio)
gakt global monthly exact search [commercial real estate] = 90,500, approximate cpc (search) = $2.13

sanantoniorealestate.net $750 on 2011 (source: namebio)
gakt global monthly exact search [sanantoniorealestate.net] =5,400

coloradorealestate.org $350 in 2009 (source: namebio)
gakt global monthly exact search [coloradorealestate.org] = 8,000

These comps have keyword search volume much greater than naplesrealestate.org, which only has 5,400 global monthly exact searches. Also, note the negative price trend of commercialrealestate.org. With the following information presented, I am willing to present you with an offer to purchase the domain for $1350, that is more than fair comparing it to comparable sales."

..you are going to seriously overpay
 
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I would be shocked if he accepts $1,350 for the .org...

How much if the .us worth?
 
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you have to take into account the size (which can be quite small) and the state of the *geo* real estate market to evaluate those realistically
 
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I just put an offer in for $600 for the .us.

My market is a luxury real estate market and also very competitive. If I go with a .us, will I have a problem ranking in google? How hard is it going to be to get on the first page of google with a .us or even a .org...
 
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1350$ is more than enough for the type of realestate .org domain you described (less exact searches/month), its already an enduser price.
It depends who the seller is.
If he doesn't need money and has tons of names he is hording, he might cancel. If he is just playing poker with you, he might even sell it to you for 300 dollars if you simply go away and don't ask him again.

If i were the seller, i would accept your offer.
 
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The guy with the .org replied back to me saying: "no thanks to $1,350"

I have a pending offer of $600 for the .org
 
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.US will be better if the 'geo' is in the US.
 
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Wow. The guy who owns the .org domain is such an a**hole! He is trying to convince me that I am getting a great deal buying the domain for $3,880 and he already brought the price down from $6,300. I just has a 20 minute call with him... Kind of angry!!

Anyway, I am waiting to hear about my offer on the .us for $600. I hope that they accepts!

Sorry for the vent!!
 
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I'm guessing you are more into real estate than domains. Here in these parts you should never offer anything close to what you want to pay for a domain. Your first offer of $1,350 could have been interpreted as you being a buyer willing to spend $5,000+ on it. The truth is, he may very well be happy with your $1,350 offer. The only way to know is present a final offer and put a deadline on it.
 
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Thank you Dub. Yes, I am into real estate. I told him my final offer is $1,800 (which I don't even want to pay that much) and he said no. I have a pending offer of on .us which I really hope goes through.. I first offer $400 which they said was way to low and I replied $600 with my final offer. Just waiting for a yes or no.
 
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$3880 lol
These 88 numbers look familiar.

Yes seams like you have no experience dealing with domainers.
20 minutes call ! That alone (no matter what you talked about) shows the seller you badly want his name. Second mistake after the first mistake (first offer $1350)!

You created high expectations in the seller with your negotiation strategy. He is now waiting that you come back in 1 or 2 weeks and go up with your offer.

In fact, he might be very happy with 1300 dollars, but he wants the max. out of you now.

Best thing you can do is to cancel the negotiations and tell him that you are going to buy the .us and say goodbye. Then, either he comes back with "Ok, wait, i accept 1800" or he is just too expensive for you and you should forget about it and look for alternatives.
But don't make the mistakes with .us and others again, don't start with offers like 600 - 1000 for names which are offered for 1300, etc.... start low, you can always increase your offer, but you can't decrease! Keep your emails short and don't show a lot of interest, don't make tel. calls and talk an hour with someone.
Hell, if you are in Realestate biz you should know all this already ;)
 
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