Dynadot

First Logo Try

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
This is my first attempt at a logo in Photoshop for my newly acquired WebDevPros.com. I might use it for a site to showcase my own work, or I might create a forum for web development stuff. Since this is my first attempt...please don't be too brutal! But...what are your thoughts? Thanks!

Attachments

• logo.jpg
    logo.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 114
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
1. If you have adobe illustrator start using that one instead photoshop.
2. drop the 3d effect and stroke on the text for now
3. some of text on the seal is behind the main text. Fix that problem. Use WebDevPros.com only once on the seal.
4. the font for web dev is too military like. Change it.
5. The font of pros is too thin compared to web dev. You can use different fonts for them but one should not be so dominant over another considering that both are part of the main text. A tagline can be be smaller and thinner. But words within the same term should appear with equally strong.

There is a design contest section in this forum. Enter a few of them to practice and improve your skills.
http://www.namepros.com/design-contests/

•••
You definitely have room for improvement. Currently your logo is a bit hard to read. I think it needs to be simpler. A wordmark (text only is a good approach) - I'd recommend have "WEB DEV PROS" on its own without the URL mentioned anywhere. In general, agree with Erdinc's suggestions - very practical. If you need to find some alternative fonts check out DaFont.com. Dedicated design contest sites like DesignCrowd are another good place to practice your skills and see what other designers are doing.

•••