Dynadot

Fake Broker Alert: Ance Methew (if that's his real name)

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Bram C.

AlmightyDomains.com + HeroForYou.comTop Member
Impact
I got the following email today:

Date: 24/05/2016 16:26:53
Subject: Re: domainname (.)com
To: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Hello,I am a Domain Names Broker and we are currently brokering the premium domain domainname.com, and based on our research we believe that you guys might see value in acquiring this name.Please let me know.

Regards,

Name

The domain name that "Ance Methew" (doubtful that this is his real name) is brokering is my own domain name. I did not give him permission to broker my domain name.

The domain is currently listed on Namejet so he probably saw my domain there and tried to contact potential buyers, pretending to be brokering this domain, in order to sell this domain before he owns it and then use some of the profits of that sale to purchase the domain on NameJet afterwards and give it to his buyer. Funny thing is, his research obviously sucked because one of the "potential" buyers he contacted is me, the owner of the domain.

If he's a real broker and that's his real name (doubt it) then I advice you to never do business with him.

Edit: I also like how he puts "RE:" in that subject line as if there was an email prior to this one.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Well why don't you play with him, he would need to move the domain before he would get paid, so let him know you will take it for 100,000, and see how he reacts.

•••
Well why don't you play with him, he would need to move the domain before he would get paid, so let him know you will take it for 100,000, and see how he reacts.

Yeah I was thinking about that.

Instead I just answered his email like this:

The domain is already mine and I didn't give you any permission to broker it.
Sounds like a nice namepros.com thread coming up...