NameSilo

You have to pay attention to what time you close your auction

Labeled as auctions in Domain Industry News started by equity78, Nov 24, 2018.

Replies:
5
Views:
469

  1. equity78

    equity78 Top Member TLDInvestors.com TheDomains Staff PRO Gold Account VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    11,925
    Likes Received:
    8,473
    When running an auction you need to be meticulous about a lot of things. From marketing the auction, to look at competing inventory closing around the same time, to the time when the auction will close. The time an auction closes is very important, I see people closing auctions on GoDaddy at 2 am on a weekend and wonder why even bother? I just happened to be getting ready to go to bed 5 a.m. … [Read more...]
     
    The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
  2. D Haynes

    D Haynes Active Member VIP

    Posts:
    926
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    Auction end time is something I learned to take advantage of when I used to eBay. I would always try to end an auction at around 8pm on a Sunday evening (in the time zone the item is most relevant to) as this is when most people are home.

    There is also an argument for ending an auction on a Friday or Saturday evening between 9pm and 11pm as this is when people have had a drink and are looser with their money (this is common knowledge in the internet poker world).

    Didn't read the article so I apologize if my statement isn't relevant or is repeating anything in the article.
     
  3. Haroon Basha

    Haroon Basha IZUQ.COM Gold Account VIP

    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    1,529
    I always prefer to bid on an auction which closes at midnight in US time. Becuase there are fewer last minute bidders (always in Godaddy auctions, where most come and bid at the last moment).
     
  4. Weber

    Weber Active Member VIP ★★★★★★★★★★

    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    369
    More likely, there are other underlying reasons for that sale price.
    A couple of years ago a public 3 letter auction would not have gotten past anyone.
     
  5. Windoms

    Windoms Established Member

    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    207
    Also watch for competition.
    Sometimes there's some guy who starts an auction with 100 .co domains. You don't want your auction to end at the same time.

    Also check for time zones
    19h---Los Angeles---08h
    22h---New York-------11h
    03h---London---------16h
    04h---Germany-------17h
    08h---India------------21h
    11h---China-----------00h
    12h---Japan------------01h
    14h---Australia---------03h
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2018
  6. slader23

    slader23 Always On The Bleeding Edge. VIP

    Posts:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2,755
    Best time for me has been ending an auction on Wednesday or Thursday between 12:00pm and 4:00PM EST.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up – and it's free!
Topics / Tags:

Share This Page

Lysted
  1. NamePros uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this site, you are agreeing to our privacy policy, terms, and use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...