IT.COM

Those who use only a notepad

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I am a fulltime web developer.
I use DreamWeaver 12 hours a day (8 hours at work, 4 hours at home for fun).

What I want to know is... I hear people saying "I only use notepad" a lot
What kind of work do they do with just a notpad?
I manage 30-40 websites.. several websites with shopping carts and programs... many websites have 50~100+ pages interlinking each others.
So... are there people doing all that with just a notepad? I just don't see how that's possible.

I know it sounds cool and impressive to say "I don't need no stinking DreamWeaver" or "I do everything with Vim".
But, anyway, more power to the "notepad only" web developers.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I only code in Notepad2 (http://www.flos-freeware.ch/notepad2.html) and the file editor in CuteFTP which is basically a crappy version of Notepad.

I code PHP, MySQL, (X)HTML, CSS, and JS.

Dreamweaver just annoys me.

•••
I first started out in notepad. I was not using any kind of wysiwyg, DW or FP at all for 4 years. I was in high school, and the free FTP programs helped me manage my sites just fine. Not ever using an editor, I didn't know what I was missing. I couldn't imagine doing wysiwyg for web design and didn't know what else an editor had to offer. I didn't have money and wanted to maximize my earnings without throwing away money on extra software. I started learning on notepad and I stuck with it.

I got my first job for a design company after being out of high school for a year. They were at first unbelieving I did all my sites by hand in notepad, but after viewing the source code they were convinced I immediately got the top position for the web design team. They said once I started with DW (which was standard in the company) there would be no turning back.

There wasn't.

And now I can't believe I was using only notepad for 4 years!!

:laugh: