IT.COM

The biggest reason most domainers fail:...

NameSilo
Watch
Impact
Realism.

I'm sure many of you that have been in the game for a few years already are well aware, but I feel like this needs to be stressed to those who are newer to the industry or are not having any success.

When I first got started with domaining I was absolutely killing it as far as I was concerned. However, unlike most domainers, I started domaining without even knowing there was an entire industry revolved around it.

I had been designing websites etc for a few years and was also a somewhat early adopter of bitcoin. I decided to start a bitcoin website and came to find there were several good names available to be registered, something I had never experienced with every other niche I had made a website for. So thinking that I had come across a great new idea, I registered them all thinking that I could just sell them to other people on bitcoin forums and sites.

Off-topic, but also worth noting: In the few years I had already been building websites, anytime I needed a domain I just found them by coming up with an idea and searching for it on godaddy. Every time that I saw a name or one of the related names that was "Premium" and had a much higher price tag, I just thought it was owned by godaddy but they were assholes and charged a premium for better names. And I always saw related premium names that I really liked, and some that I would have even paid a good amount for had they not all had ridiculous $xxxx price tags.

So my point here is -
A. About 99% of endusers imo use godaddy (I'm a part of several web design and seo communities, and the majority have never even heard of sedo/afternic/etc.). If you aren't listing your names there, you're missing out BIG TIME.