IT.COM

"Stick to .coms when you start domaining".. I see it a lot. What does it mean?

NameSilo
Watch

bigbagofbricks

Established Member
Impact
I'm very new to this site and have only ever bought one domain hoping for a profit. Ie. Complete newb. Anyways, I see this phrase everywhere and wonder what people mean by it..

Do people mean that you can venture out into a few of the new ".tech" domains when you have some profit to play with? Or is it that you'll only really understand the (lack of) potential after more time in the business?

I'm only interested in .com but yea, I've seen it said like ten times today.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Or is it that you'll only really understand the (lack of) potential after more time in the business?

This, when you have a feel of the industry you can try venture out but in the beginning its best to stay with .com imo! (renewal fees for certain new extensions are really big too)

•••
This, when you have a feel of the industry you can try venture out but in the beginning its best to stay with .com imo! (renewal fees for certain new extensions are really big too)
Those renewal fees have saved me a few times from going for a domain that I've later realised was a bit silly.. Thankful in a way!

•••
It simply means that there is more demand for .com domains, thus the likelihood of selling is higher. But this not enough of course, the names have to be decent enough, and even great.

•••
.com is far and away the king of extensions. It is the extension most universally identified with internet websites. Only thing close would be in country specific tlds where the market audience is local, like .de, .co.uk, .ru.

Businesses who place any importance in their web identity should want a .com address that matches their business without hyphens.

.org might be 1st choice for nonprofits
.net is second choice if you cant get the .com