IT.COM

PHP upgrade 5.3 > 5.4.20 Something broke

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I'm trying to kill a bug which has appear after I upgraded to PHP 5.4.20. I have no idea if this is a known problem or not. It's to do with the listing of files to download. I get the following error message when listing each line for each file to download, and the download link is broken.

Strict Standards
: Only variables should be passed by reference in /filelocation/index.php on line 50
The error message is referring to this line, as far as I can tell....

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

Is this something that could have been obsoleted with the upgrade. Is there maybe an upgrade which I should point to instead?

Is this something I could correct by using less Strict Standards? How to do that?

Any help or useful ideas. I'm not an expert in PHP and know nothing about javascript.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
•••
Disabling strict standard is an option but ideally it would be to fix that code at line 50. You likely have some function there. Check what is passed to it and how is the function header defined. References have & symbol before it.

•••
OK. So the first thing I've done is upgrade my jquery to the latest

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/2.1.1/jquery.min.js"></script>

The first error at line 50 is resolved, but I'm now getting an error at line 100. It's the same error message as above and refers to this line

$filetype = strtolower(end(explode('.',$fetchFiles->filename)));;

What is the non-variable in this line, and how to correct it? Do I need to define something here as a variable? How to do that? Where to put it? This is not my code but I'd like to correct it.

As before, any help would be greatly appreciated.

•••
Remove the extra semi-colon :)

•••