IT.COM

Is Google AdSense worth it?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Ethan

Sheriff Of NothingEstablished Member
Impact
I've been using Google AdSense since April 2004 and I haven't made over $75 over the entire span of time. I've got half my members clicking on the links, but I'm only earning like $.02 for each click and getting no where for profit.

I've also come to notice that Google is the only external connection on my site and it slows in down, and it's noticialbe on a dialup computer according to some members.

I've tried everything from placing them directly on the top, to on almost every page. I currently only use them for related research as I run an eZine it gives good links often related to the article. But the slowness isn't worth it.

Is having Adsense a site worth it? If you earn no profit, and slow down your page time for nothing should I just remove it?

I'm not saying that AdSense isn't good for some people, but I'm just asking with my case.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
•••
Well this conversation has gone far, but I do think that I'm going to remove AdSense from my front page in order to fit more content. I'll keep the AdSense on other pages though as it does provide good research links for products and services related to the article.

•••
Adsense works for me, I am getting $2,- CT rates almost every day, and I do not click on my own banners ;)

•••
That's what I attempted to point out in the first post I made that it isn't for everyone, but some people have success with it. No matter the number of success stories there will always be someone who doesn't achieve a state of prosperity with something.

I don't think that my site is fit for AdSense and that I'm probably never going to earn much money from it. I'm currently planning on only using it for extended research links for my articles to assist others in finding good deals related to their current readings.

•••