Dynadot

question Is direct contact via GoDaddy often spam?

NameSilo
Watch

TheFreedomChaser

Established Member
Impact
I am a newbie and a bit cautious when it comes to online security. Keen to hear if anyone thinks the below is my very first lead….or a red flag!

Earlier today I received an email from GoDaddy which looks legit below, it starts with:

‘Someone is trying to contact you regarding xxx.com.

We received a request from someone who'd like to contact you regarding xxx.com, which you registered through GoDaddy. This contact method is designed to provide a way for people who are interested in your domain to reach you, while still keeping your contact information private.’

It also includes the email address of the party who wants to get in contact and their message:

‘I would like to contact you regarding your domain and/or content on your website.’

Is this normal? Or just a typical spam technique targeting domain owners?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I am a newbie and a bit cautious when it comes to online security. Keen to hear if anyone thinks the below is my very first lead….or a red flag!

Earlier today I received an email from GoDaddy which looks legit below, it starts with:

We received a request from someone who'd like to contact you regarding xxx.com, which you registered through GoDaddy. This contact method is designed to provide a way for people who are interested in your domain to reach you, while still keeping your contact information private.’

It also includes the email address of the party who wants to get in contact and their message:

‘I would like to contact you regarding your domain and/or content on your website.’

That is hard to say.
I have dealt with spam email supposedly coming from GoDaddy, with a statement that there was an offer for a domain.