Domain Empire

How to make a basic webpage with cpanel?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Im new to cPanel and after I log in I see the menu where you can add all kinds of things to your site (like mail, agora shopping cart, bulletin board). But how do I set up the actual web page to add these things on to? I've built websites using site designer but I'm confused where to start with cPanel. I just signed up for a hosting account with hostgator and I've read the manual and don't see step 1 in there (how to make the actual webpage to add things to). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hi cjbay,

some of that are parts and some are completely whole pages.
Example would be, if you install bulletin board then thats your starting page, like you see here on NamePros. Other example of 'page' is CMS (Joomla ...).

Other parts (like mail) have their 'page' but you need to link to them,
and thats part which you cant do in cPanel :imho:

-

•••
Does it include fantastico? start there.

•••
well, you could use some Content Management systems but youcould also go for some free templates that you canfind on the internet, and edit in a htML editor..,like dreamweaver, php designer, bu tthere are also some open source ones..then you upload them in the public_html directory
if you need some help, PM me.I'd be glad to help...for free :)
I remember me being in the same position as you :)

•••
to clarify: cpanel is a control panel - it is not designed to make websites. there are some applications on cpanel that will allow you to make websites though, such as cms's.

•••