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How to Decide Price?

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Okay. I am not a professional seller. I am just into this because I want to clear some of my domains.

So I have this question in mind because I purchased the domains with building content intention in mind.

Now that I am after clearing the portfolio. I want to know how to put a price on domains and how to put a bid.

Any experienced seller or hobbyist, know how to decide price of your domain?
 
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There is no good easy answer to your question. But I do have an easy answer for you to consider, but some may not agree with what I will say.

Go to Estibot and see what it says your domains are "worth". The amount it says may be the very, very MOST your domain will sell for. In reality you can expect your domain to sell for 10%-50% of the Estibot estimate. The actual price will depend on where you sell, who you sell to, and your ability to market and negotiate a deal. If you list it here on NamePros, there is a good chance you will sell the domain, but the price could be as low as 2% of the estimate.

I encourage you to read more information here on Namepros about selling domains. Read many opinions and you will get a good sense of how things work and what to expect. Don't follow the advice of any one person, including me. :)
 
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well I would start with looking at estibot and see what they say. Is it a short searched .com?

Are you talking about listing on a forum, or what you should ask full retail?

Domains are all one of a kind, so they have different values to everybody.
 
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Thanks. :)

I will be searching some of the threads to see more information on building idle non-parked domain.
 
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Check Sedo also to find out more about the prices for similar domain names.
Valuate.com is similar to estibot.
If you decide to sell your names here good luck.
Sometimes you will not even get the reseller price.
 
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No offense but using automated tools is not good advice. In your case, the best would be to list them somewhere and take offers, or just set a high price to begin with, then decrease the price. In the meanwhile look at the traffic stats to see if anybody is even looking for the domain.

For the most part, the value is what an end user will be willing to pay.

You can get meaningless automated appraisals all over the place, but domains don't sell because they have appraisals. They sell because somebody wants them bad enough to pull out their wallet.
 
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Goto DNSalesPrice.com to see what otehr domains with your keywords have sold for. This will give you a good idea about price as well.
 
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If they are not too many and you don't want to use the appraisal section :) then you could ask (politely) 1 or 2 guys you think are good at this and ask them for their opinions.

But if your portfolio is too big, if you were to ask me to appraise them I would ask for a small commission on every sale. But still others may do it for you for free!

PS- I don't mean to be rude but if you handregged them yourself, the chances are that they are worthless - no offence intended at all, just know the nature of this game inside out :)
 
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appraisal

well... I am afraid you need to appraise yours first which some agency provide at free of cost.
Then go for deciding price.
 
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I agree with sdsinc. I never price domains. And appraisals automated or otherwise are meaningless. a domain is worth what a buyer is willing to pay. The seller cannot realistically set the price the buyer does. Take offers and negotiate from there.
 
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If you truly want to clear them out, time is of the essence. Sight unseen I recommend ...

1) turn auto renew off
2) park at sedo, fixed price $1500 each
3) 30 days before expiration change sedo listing to not for sale then start NP no min no reserve auction
4) kiss unsold names good bye at expiration unless parking revenue tops renewal cost

good luck!
 
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My algorithm is close to to what nielsencl has posted here.

I use valuate.com for starting appraisal (I think it is basically the same as estibot as they use the same source, but I like their interace more. And I now use sitetrail.com and alexa for estimating traffic. If no traffic, 10-25% of the valuate.com price will work. It also makes difference if the domain is aged and if I personally like it or not :)

I deal with .com only if traffic can be monetized - I would rather monetize it than sell the domain.
 
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You must consider at least these factors:

- purchase price
- renewal fees
- similar sales
- Google exact searches
- Google trends
- other registered tlds
 
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check sedo for domain pricing and more..
hopr it helps you..!!
 
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Go to Estibot and see what it says your domains are "worth". The amount it says may be the very, very MOST your domain will sell for. In reality you can expect your domain to sell for 10%-50% of the Estibot estimate.

Just gave Estibot a shot. I have a domain that I'd say fetches $100 (if I'm reallyyyy patient and reallyyyyyy lucky) --- estibot gave me $28,800.

:lol:

I wish!

Seems like it favors the number of search results far too much. It's just a niche keyword. Blank splash and no development history, just 2m search results.

P.S. to avoid misinterpretation, I'm not bashing you, just saying your preface was spot on... sadly.
 
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To be frank , using estibot or any other appraisal tools does not give exact value of your domain name. In fact, there is no one who can give you the exact value of your domain name other than the buyer.

Over the years, there have been many methods to find this out , but I would like to share with you one of the techniques which is used by Andrew Rosener, a veteran domain broker to value domain names.

Let me explain this with an example: Take the term "cloud server"
Go to Google keywords tool. Type in your search term or your domain name with proper spaces.

If your domain intends to attract attention of particular country, then select that country instead of 'global monthly searches'. That will give you an idea on how popular is your search term in that particular country.
Here we will take U.S as example.
Next step is to change the search criterion from 'broad' to 'exact', which you can find on the left side of tool. You must be interested only in 'exact' search term.

Now click search:

The Exact local monthly searches for cloud server will be : 2900 in U.S for this particular term.

And when you see in the Approx CPC column for this search term , you find CPC rate that advertisers are ready to pay, ranges from $33-$34 per click.

Normally end users would like to capture maximum attention of around 80% of the people who are searching for the term "cloud server". So that will bring the number of potential customers to:

2900*0.80 = 2320 (potential customers for the end user).

Now calculate the amount which the advertiser has to pay to capture the attention of 2320 customers per month.

2320*$33(Cost-per-click for "cloud server" term that advertisers are normally paying) = $76,560/month.

Now Andrew Rosener says that, to calculate actual value of the domain, we need to consider 24 months period along with the monthly amount paid by advertisers which brings our domain cloudserver.com's value to :

$76,560*24 = $1,837,440 (actual value)

Well this is just a normal calculation . This should not be taken as a benchmark rate for selling any domain name however. Even Andrew says the value of domain name ranges from 10% of the actual value to the 90% of the actual value.

But still, I believe that it is what buyer is ready to pay for. No one can judge accurately the value of a domain name.
 
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husain.raw's method is close in my opinion but to me it assumes 100% CTR (click through rate) on the $33-34 CPC. This is wrong. Average click through rate I would say is 2-5%. In this case let's assume a benchmark of 3% to be on the safe side.

As in husain.raw's example let's take the 2320 potential customers and divide by 100 multiplied by 3.

(2320/100) * 3 = 70 (rounded up).

Now multiply that by the lower end CPC of $33.

70 * 33 = 2310.

Multiple 2310 by 24 months revenue to get the uppermost value of a domain name in terms of it's worth.

2310 * 24 = $55440.

There are of course many other factors involved in the price of a domain but I feel this is a great benchmark to work with IMO for valuating .com and ccTLD domains.

Other factors involve age of the domain, competition for the domain, brand-ability, appeal etc.

After all I have seen domains with under 100 exact searches a month selling for low $x,xxx purely down to the other factors.

Every domain has a base value regardless of search volume, cpc/ctr and development potential. This is of course determined by the other factors mentioned and what the buyer/seller themselves consider a base rate to be.

Again just in my opinion.

:tu:
 
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husain.raw's method is close in my opinion but to me it assumes 100% CTR (click through rate) on the $33-34 CPC. This is wrong. Average click through rate I would say is 2-5%. In this case let's assume a benchmark of 3% to be on the safe side.

As in husain.raw's example let's take the 2320 potential customers and divide by 100 multiplied by 3.

(2320/100) * 3 = 70 (rounded up).

Now multiply that by the lower end CPC of $33.

70 * 33 = 2310.

Multiple 2310 by 24 months revenue to get the uppermost value of a domain name in terms of it's worth.

2310 * 24 = $55440.

There are of course many other factors involved in the price of a domain but I feel this is a great benchmark to work with IMO for valuating .com and ccTLD domains.

Other factors involve age of the domain, competition for the domain, brand-ability, appeal etc.

After all I have seen domains with under 100 exact searches a month selling for low $x,xxx purely down to the other factors.

Every domain has a base value regardless of search volume, cpc/ctr and development potential. This is of course determined by the other factors mentioned and what the buyer/seller themselves consider a base rate to be.

Again just in my opinion.

:tu:

Thanks for making it more precise!
 
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