IT.COM

HostGator vs BlueHost

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Hey Guys,

I'm a complete newb to domaining and only have just purchased my first domain. I'm planning on getting into either flipping or niche sites, either way, I'll slowly collect more domains.

Which host would you pick? I narrowed down dozens to these two: HostGator or BlueHost. They are both affordable at around $6/mo or $8/mo and both seem to have identical features. I think BlueHost requires you to be with them for min of 1yr vs I can do month by month with HostGator.

Thanks!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
It's easy to recognize affiliated sites or paid posts on forums, as they usually starting thread about particular hosting company(ies) describing their services as best and asking others about their opinion :)

•••
any sharing hosting will suck when:
a) your usage goes over what they believe is reasonable for unlimited hosting and they will ask you to stop using it or upgrade OR
b) when they add so many accounts on one server making it so slow you would want to look elsewhere yourself
with that said, I would go with HostGator as more mature host

•••
Adding to above, it's better in most cases to get reliable VPS hosting, of course you may need to have some knowledge in servers, or, your provider should help you in setting up and run your VPS, so does the reputable hosting company you can rely on.

•••
Hostgator and Bluehost seem to have a lot of issues nowadays so I would be careful, and look for reviews, Best of luck with choosing your new host

•••
Do not go to the sites that say top 10 hosting or anything of the likes because those are affiliate sites and for them the best host will be the one that pays them the most for passing you on to them.

•••