Dynadot

HostGator vs BlueHost

NameSilo
Watch
Impact
Hey Guys,

I'm a complete newb to domaining and only have just purchased my first domain. I'm planning on getting into either flipping or niche sites, either way, I'll slowly collect more domains.

Which host would you pick? I narrowed down dozens to these two: HostGator or BlueHost. They are both affordable at around $6/mo or $8/mo and both seem to have identical features. I think BlueHost requires you to be with them for min of 1yr vs I can do month by month with HostGator.

Thanks!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Both are acceptable companies from my experience. Just stay away from 1&1 LOL

•••
Hey Guys,

I'm a complete newb to domaining and only have just purchased my first domain. I'm planning on getting into either flipping or niche sites, either way, I'll slowly collect more domains.

Which host would you pick? I narrowed down dozens to these two: HostGator or BlueHost. They are both affordable at around $6/mo or $8/mo and both seem to have identical features. I think BlueHost requires you to be with them for min of 1yr vs I can do month by month with HostGator.

Thanks!

At the Shared hosting level there's not going to be much difference.

If you're totally uncertain you could use free hosting such as 000Webhost which I don't use but friends of mine have.

You just missed the 50% HG sale yesterday. I think coupons will always take 30% or so off.

Always use a coupon for hosting :) Sometimes sign up and fail to check out and they will email an incentive.

Disclosure: I use HG and have never had an issue and support has always been quick (I use online support). For VPS/Cloud and more advanced hosting etc then choose something else like Linode or Rackspace that are better options for that (imho)

•••