IT.COM

Hire service to negotiate DN purchase?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Hello everyone, I'm glad there's a Newbies forum here. I read about it on sedo (which I just disovered a few days ago, along with alternic.) I'm not a newbie to web site design/hosting but I am one as far as buying names from others is concerned

I need some advice. There's a domain name that I want which is currently being used. I've had my eye on it for a year. I did a snapnames on it last year when it was a month away from expiring, but the owner renewed for another year. There went my 70 bucks.

He's just parking the domain ... it's full of free newsletter signups and google adwords type of things, but there's no "available for sale" link on it. No contact info on the site other than a form to which no one ever replies.

So ... i was thinking of hiring sedo or similar kind of service to be more aggressive about negotiating a sale, keeping me anonymous. I didn't even know that was possible until I started investigating this whole field last week.

Has anyone ever used this kind of service?

I'd approach him myself but then he'd be able to look up my own company's web site (small shop, just me, a resume service) and see that I'm using that name combo for one of my services, and he'd jack up the price.

The domain name isn't trademarked (did a quick check), it's a weird combination of a couple generic names. But I like it. Someone else has the .net, a diff. guy has the .org ... this is the .com version.

Any advice? Do these services work?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
If you use a 3rd party service then the domain owner will probably have the intention that you are serious about acquiring the domain and may ask for a real end user price. I advice you to just contact him yourself, not to mention the owner would cut out alot of fees by dealing direct with you. Just my 2 cents.

•••
really. hmmm.