Domain Empire

Generating traffic to website from YouTube

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
YouTube Traffic

I mirrored the Saddam Execution video on YouTube and placed a reference to my Look What Dave Found blog in the description and my usual uniques traffic has quadrupled.. I've had 351 uniques today alone so far. That's almost 1/5 of the total uniques I had all month last month! I'm gonna have to experiment with using YouTube a bit more!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
advaita said:
Another question. I just went to another site and they had a long list of do's and dont's among them was one which said no advertising of your own website, which they considered to be spamming. Wouldn't people get a bit annoyed if you were advertising your website on their website ? Just curious as I'm a newbie and don't know what's acceptable and what isn't.

Well, one way "around" looking spammy is to set up a blog, and on MetaCafe, you can post a "relevant link", which I make the address of the blog post. I put more information about the movie on the blog post than I can in the description field on the video site, so I think that makes it relevant, while at the same time, it drives traffic to my site.

•••
I just hate having to watch an ad on MetaCafe before the actual video plays.

RegFee said:
Well, one way "around" looking spammy is to set up a blog, and on MetaCafe, you can post a "relevant link", which I make the address of the blog post. I put more information about the movie on the blog post than I can in the description field on the video site, so I think that makes it relevant, while at the same time, it drives traffic to my site.

•••
dav3.us said:
I agree.

Thirty second comercials may be good for TV but never for the Internet.

However, ads with 3, 5 and even 10 second ads may have a good future for companies to monetize on the Internet.

•••