IT.COM

advice Domain purchase of a company

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Adam101

Impact
Hi All,
I'm new to domains and needed some advice from the experts here at namepros.com

So, the company I work for is being bought out by another company.
I had a idea and check to see if they had bought the domain name which would associate our company and their company, it was available and I bought 3 domain names. I worked this out by looking at other companies they have acquired and looked at what domains they had.

My question is, as I work for the company they are acquiring would I get into trouble for this and can they legally do anything that could potential mean I have for give up that domain name.
My plan is to sell it back to them for a premium.

Thanks
Adam

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hi All,

I had a idea and check to see if they had bought the domain name which would associate our company and their company, it was available and I bought 3 domain names. I worked this out by looking at other companies they have acquired and looked at what domains they had.

My question is, as I work for the company they are acquiring would I get into trouble for this and can they legally do anything that could potential mean I have for give up that domain name.

Thanks
Adam

Interesting!
Questions?

1. Is that name trademarked yet?
2. Did you read the fine print on anything you signed before you started work ? Usually companies add in the fine print some kind of NDA . You kinda have the inside track on your company dealings and used the info to benefit yourself. Don't know how that would stand in court. What do you think ?

My two cents.

•••
Yeah, good luck with that. :xf.rolleyes:

•••
I'd have thought it would be hard to negotiate with a company who pays your wages, but I guess you could always use private registration and sell through an aftermarket domain site to keep your identity secret.