IT.COM

Catching a domain expiring on Alibaba Cloud

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Sorgere

Impact
Hello,
Please forgive any errors as I'm a total newb with domains but have been learning.

I am starting a business and a domain I like expired in Feb. It was originally registered through Alibaba Cloud. I called them today and the rep said that they release expired domains to the public and have no auction house. Do you believe this is accurate?

To try to get the domain, I placed a backorder through Namebright. Is this the best approach or should I use a different drop catcher or multiple? I'm bootstrapping the company so I don't want to spend much on the domain for the website.

Thanks so much!!
Paul

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
try to add another backorder such as snapnames to increase your success rate

•••
If I do backorder through another service won't that make the name go to auction where other parties might find it interesting? Thanks so much for your input!

•••
If it is good name then it will probably go to auction as many people will be interested in it. You can see if it has been backordered or not at different dropcatchers by searching that name on these platforms like dropcatch.com namejet.com or snapnames.com and if there is no interest then add your backorders at last minute to avoid more bidders.

•••
If I do backorder through another service won't that make the name go to auction where other parties might find it interesting? Thanks so much for your input!
well there is such possibility, you have to calculate the risk of any option you take
for me if the success rate is higher than the risk i will go after the higher rate
but this is my personal opinion, you should carefully consider it by your self

•••
Thank you both very much. It's great to get insight on this from people experienced with domains!
Kind regards,
Paul

•••
alibaba sounds like a nice domain pirate ;p

•••