Dynadot

Are automated domain appraisals accurate?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Linnie

Impact
Hi, I am new to domaining, I've been learning for a few weeks and bought about 20 domains. I keep finding domains worth between $300-1000 that are available to register at $12 each (on Crazy Domains). I am appraising them at 'genericdomainfinder' and this seems like a great way to get an idea of their worth.

Is this kind of automated appraisal accurate? I find it weird that I'm seeing so many domains available that are worth $1000+ . Why are they available? At a profit of maybe $988 it seems like a no-brainer.
For obvious reasons I can't say what they are as I haven't snapped them all up yet.
I also found some top keywords and got some domains with a dash in them, like for example......(example-site.com). When I did an appraisal without the dash, it was appraised at 6K. I want to actually put a website on this domain because I make simple websites as a hobby and I find it fun to put up websites. I've never developed a site with good keywords before.

Domaining seems great. I bought some dud sites at first, but I'm improving. I wonder is it too good to be true? I suppose I need to auction some of the sites to find out for real what they are worth.
Thanks for your help

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Short answer is no, they are not accurate.

You can check the previous threads on this forum and see domains advertised at 75% or more below appraised value.

There are several automated appraisal sites, and the results are not consistent either. To convince yourself, you can try noktadomains and estibot on one of your domains, or on won auctions such as flippa

I think however that automated estimates give an indication, among many others, of the value of a domain, but that's controversial and many expert completely disregard automated valuations.

•••