IT.COM

advice When did you start Domaining? Best Advice for Newbies?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Candace

Broker at Starfire HoldingsTop Member
Starfire Holdings
Impact
Hi All,

I am relatively new to Namepros. Hi Everyone! I love it so far. I would love to know:

1. When did you become a domainer?
2. How?
3. What one advice would you give to Newbies? (the more specific the better, but general is great to)
4. Shout out the person(s) you are most thankful to for guidance in your domaining career.

I always like to hear other people's stories and get their advice.

About me:
1. When? I started Jan 1st 2016
2. How? Random. Internet Search
3. Advice? I am a newbie. My best advice to myself would be to find a mentor before purchasing my first domain.
4. Shout Outs? @DomainSherpa for DNAcademy & DomainSherpa.com.
@Zandibot for giving great advice on zandibot.com & for his contributions to DNAcademy.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
1. 1999
2. I found out about greatdomains.com
3. If you are a newbie, learn as much as possible, because youll make mistakessss, sharpen your gut feeling, because in my opinion it's really coming down to it, the ability to be able to know, to tell a winner and a loser.

Most newbies buy seriously crappy names and think they have winners, it is good if you could avoid this.

Also dont get emotional about domains you have, because imho it's stupid, most domainers get unnecessarily emotional.

Good luck!

•••
Love it! Thank you so much

•••
1. I've owned and developed websites since the late 90's; threw myself into full-time domaining since 2013.
2. I was always able to pick decent domain names for projects on my own, but when I asked someone how much it would cost to buy their domain and they threw me a $30k price tag - I decided to look at this a little closer.